Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yep. It's pretty great. Everyone loves it. I've made it three times now. First time followed the recipe to a tee, and it was yummy. Found Irish Whiskey to be too expensive (and I'm doing this to save money), so next time I used St. Remy's brandy. That was even better! This last time all I had was cheap vodka, so I used it and even that is delicious in this recipe. All in all a total win. My suggestion though is try it with brandy, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've been making this Irish Cream for 2 years now and give them out as gifts in mass quantities. (48-60 bottles per Christmas). It has gotten tremendous raves from all. While I am not a big tweaker of recipes, I have a few tiny changes that seem to have been a hit. First of all, I use only Jameson Irish Whiskey.. the most important ingredient. I use a cup and a half. As for the extracts, I only us the real stuff, not imitation. A full teaspoon of vanilla and no more than 3/4th of the almond. For the sweetened condensed milk, only carnation will give the best results. The mix is very thick, and I usually also add an ounce of two or half and half, but the full cup of heavy cream is absolutely necessary. Lastly, I am generous with the chocolate syrup. 2 generous tablespoons. For the coffee, folgers decaf. (I know, theres plenty of caffeine already in this drink, but the folgers decaff gives a nicer overall flavor) These ingredients make this an expensive drink, but you will find that most of the people who taste it will tell you its the absolute best irish cream they ever had!! (Note, other recipes call for eggs in the mix.. which is totally not necessary) Good luck, I promise you will find this the best recipe you can find for genuine irish cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I just made this...... WONDERFUL - PERFECT! Hey everyone, DON'T CHANGE A THING! THIS IS THE WAY IRISH CREAM SHOULD BE. I can hardly wait for my morning coffee. Oh did I say it was PERFECT!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I taste the condensed milk more than I would like. I'll try to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. The first time, I listened to other reviewers and altered the recipe, it was good. the next time ( and every time since) I followed it exactly and was very happy and impressed. If you like Bailey's, then you will like this recipe as-is. I'm enjoying a glass right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I liked this. It was really easy to make. Next time though I will try without the almond extract. Thought that was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Loved it...took the advise of others and decreased the whiskey to 1 cup..and will reduce the almond extract next time..but it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I was in a rush and did not read the reviews - it was super strong! Yowza! But, everyone loved it, it was a hit regardless...or maybe their taste buds were numbed from the alcohol? Still rating it high because I loved the touch of coffee and almond extract, and I'll be making it again, but with less whiskey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made with heavy cream once then half and half instead the second time. Preferred the half and half. Will reduce almond extract a little nexttime, but it's pretty perfect! Now I use 1/4 teas almond extract, 1 &1/3 cup Irish whiskey, and half and half instead I'd cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Fantastic! Followed other reviews and used half & half, skipped the almond extract and only used 1 cup whiskey. Might as well double the recipe from the start since it's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States