Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Do not change the recipe! Best as is! Make it a few days ahead of time. Even better after it sits a while in the fridge! Just made it (again) this evening, will be perfect in time for Christmas! AND, I highly recommend Tullamore Dew... the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I substituted 1/2 cup heavy cream plus 1/2 cup light cream for a slightly lighter consistency. Used only 2/3 cup whiskey, and 4-5 drops of almond extract. No matter what it's yummy, just a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was Awesome... I used coconut extract, not the almond, and I didn't have whipping cream, I used 2% milk. I think next time I'll use half and half. I also used too much choclate syrup, so my first batch was pretty dark. It tastes just like baileys irish cream. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Exceptional! Definitely a gift giver... 2 for me, 1 for you! It's a little strong if you drink it straight, in coffee it's perfect. The other reviewers who change the quantities must drink it straight. With coffee or milk 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! We took the suggestion of withholding the almond extract. Not having any instant coffee we just made a strong pot of coffee and used 3/4 cup and it worked great! we will be looking foward to making this treat every holiday season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was quite good and I liked better than my mom's recipe with raw eggs. I did follow a couple earlier recommendations of half and half instead of cream and reduced whiskey to 1 cup as recommended. You can still really taste the whiskey, and I am a whiskey drinker. You can always add more, but you can't take it out if there if it is too much for your taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TABATHANICHOLS
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is amazingly yummy. I used half the coffee, 1 cup whiskey and a half tsp of coconut extract instead of almond. I also used half and half instead of whipping cream. It was plenty creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABATHANICHOLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made it with Jameson Irish Whiskey(good stuff) and it came out so good. The family loved it. This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Tafoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good but not the best I've had and we made it almost to the letter. The extracts sort of take away from the real cream flavor.... and we cut the almond extract in half but it was too much. And there is too much Whiskey for our liking, so we did use less. It is possible letting it sit for a while could help mellow the flavors? We decided to make another recipe the second time and found one using real melted milk chocolate and no extracts, and I have to say that was by far superior to this recipe. Irish Cream Liqueur II is our favorite between the two from this site. I also think using real melted milk chocolate helped because using the chocolate syrup just made it taste a bit off. However, using the heavy cream is wonderful! I think you must try it before you knock it. That is what you're making after all... Irish CREAM... not Irish Milk. So splurge and use the cream before you decide to change that ingredient. You'll be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States