Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy, yummy, great gift...I am not giving the full 5 stars simply because I did change it a little. I reduced the whiskey for my taste and used half and half, which I also increased in the end as well. Over all a great starting point that you can very easily tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delish!! I followed the recipe exactly. I think there may be a bit too much chocolate syrup to be exactly like Bailey's. I will cut back some next time...and there will be a next time! So thick and rich and delicious....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed the substitutions posted here, used half and half instead of heavy cream, decreased to 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and decreased the whiskey to 7 oz. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
this stuff was really good. my family loves Bailey's (we're irish afterall), and this stuff was a hit. i went easy on the almond extract, as the reviews suggested...however, i went heavy on the jameson, cause that's how my family rolls. i might try it again with less chocolate and use half & half instead of heavy cream... it was VERY thick. not sure if i would let it sit overnight, my dad said it was better freshly blended. great recipe, will make it again for holiday gifts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is yummy, but I did cut down the whiskey to 1 C. I make it for gifts and always get a great response. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonusformom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I like this recipe very much, but like others, I find the original too strong, so I use about 3/4 to 1 cup of whiskey. I also find it a bit too sweet for my taste, so I cut the amount of sweetened condensed milk in half. To make up for the lack of volume, I use 1 and 1/4 cup of cream or half and half (I actually prefer half and half) and instead of instant coffee granules, I use 1/2 cup of strong brewed coffee. I also use only 1/8 tsp of almond extract along with 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of coconut extract. I realize this is a lot of 'amending' but with any recipe you tend to adapt it to your own tastes. I do really like that this recipe doesn't use raw eggs or that awful powdered coffee "creamer". I like to buy top shelf ingredients and I can do that with this recipe. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
When I moved to Co. from Az. I did not realize how much more expensive Liquor was so I found this one recipe it was so good i will never buy it at the Liquor at the liquor store not only because of the price it is so much better thank you and just in time for the Holidays....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortez, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dolores, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
What a great, easy, treat! I made it for Christmas gifts and my friends really enjoyed it. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and took the whiskey down to 1 cup (Canandian Mist, blasphemy but much easier on the wallet). I also cut the heavy cream with milk, 1/2 cup of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Good. I liked better with half and half instead of heavy cream but very good recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieDelight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This Irish Cream is AMAZING! My family and I couldn't get enough! I will def keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginacav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States