Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm going to sum it up by saying, just like with anything you make in your kitchen (or in this case bar), you should tailor it to suit your preferences. To make this recipe PERFECT TO YOU, start with 3/4 can of condensed milk, 1 cup of whisk(e)y, half the chocolate, half the coffee and half the almond extract. Taste and add more to suit to your liking. Remember, YOU CAN ALWAYS ADD MORE BUT CAN'T TAKE AWAY. Personally, I used all the condensed milk, 1 cup whiskey, more coffee granules than called for (taste can vary by brand, too), half the chocolate syrup, and all of the almond extract, plus a little splash of 2% milk. I didn't bother with the blender, just used my large whisk and stirred it up right in the pitcher. Let's just say the recipe submitter would make a VERY popular bartender with the full 1 2/3 cups of whiskey! But hey, maybe I'm a lightweight ;) Thanks for the GREAT suit-to-one's-liking recipe! And for those who mentioned that it doesn't taste like Bailey's: like I said this recipe is perfect to alter HOWEVER YOU LIKE! Or just go buy the darn bottle of Bailey's already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
When I first made this, I couldn't find almond extract so I didn't use it. I also used light cream instead of heavy cream and a small amount of brewed coffee instead of instant. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! It tasted very much like Baileys except the real cream was far more indulgent (the real Baileys does not have cream otherwise it wouldn't be sitting out on an unrefrigerated liquor store shelf with no expiration date). The cost though is calories. The real problem is the sweetened condensed milk (that little can has 1,300 calories). Even 1 cup of the heavy cream only adds 800 calories. Bottom line, you are looking at about 500 calories per each 5 oz serving in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Based on all the reviews I came up with: 1 cup half and half, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup of Irish Whiskey, 1 teaspoon instant coffee, 2 tablespoons chocolate syrup and 2 teaspoon vanilla. Perfect. So glad I swapped out the heavy cream for 1/2 and 1/2. The heavy cream would have been to thick for my liking. And I don't like almond extract so I just doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just tried this recipe last night and the only thing I did differently was use Canadian Whiskey as that was what I happen to have on hand. That being said, the end result tasted nothing like any Irish Cream that I've ever had. Side by side this recipe tasted totally disgusting actually. I absolutely love Irish Cream so needless to say I was very disappointed. What a waste of money!!! So unless it was all due to the type of whiskey I used, if you have your hopes up that it will taste as good as the real thing I wouldn't waste my money if I were you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I purchased a good and pricey Irish whiskey (Jamieson's) and went strictly by the recipe . Tastes NOTHING like real Bailey's Irish Cream - find a different recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I started off with 1/2 the Irish Whiskey and half the Almond Extract. It was good, but still too much Almond. I would make it again with no Almond Extract. Make it without first and add 1/8 tsp. at a time if you really want to include it. Bailey's Irish cream has no Almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
While definitely stronger and with less a hint of butterscotch than Bailey's (tasted side by side), this is an excellent recipe for fun & easy gift-giving. The whiskey really comes to the front when mixed with coffee, but best when sipped over ice. Multiple Christmas gatherings were brightened by repeated samplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made and give for Christmas gifts... Friends were more than happy to receive .... I made with amber rum because I had a 66 oz and i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I just made this and it is fabulous! I cut back on the Jameson and almond extract,( 1 cup wiskey,1/2 tsp. of almond) Plenty strong with these changes Next time I'll us a less expencive Irish wiskey but I'll keep everything else the same.I can't wait for it to rest overnight in the fridge and try it in my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
LOVE this! Thanks so much for this recipe. Just made this for Christmas gifts! And in this season celebrating love and plenty, I used 2 pints whipping cream/heavy cream, one 750 ml bottle of "good" Irish Whiskey (Jamesons), 6 cans sweetened condensed milk and the called for amounts of coffee, chocolate syrup and real vanilla (not artificial). I omitted the almond extract which I have a personal dislike for - If a recipe calls for almond flavoring, I use the real thing somehow. Made this in my blender in batches, doubling it each time. The above amounts of liquid will fill 11 and a half Ball/Kerr pint canning jars. I printed out a pretty label "Homemade for you from ____" and put a sticky bow on the lid. Refrigerating the jars in the box they came in until I deliver them individually. I'm keeping the half jar for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States