Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I read through all the suggestions/reviews before making and came up with the following balance - I only changed the amount of alcohol, since I didn't have irish whiskey, I used Chivas and only used 7 oz...I did try 10oz before, but find that 7 is the perfect balance. I also did not add the almond extract as we have allergies in our family and didn't want to take any chances. Other than these minor changes I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfect!! I plan on giving some bottled Irish cream as hostess gifts this x-mas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cut the almond extract in half and STILL it tastes like almond cream liqueur. Also, I cut the sweetness a bit by using half sweetened condensed milk and half evaporated milk (aka unsweetened condensed milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Amazingly good in a cup of ice cold Diet Coke! I know... sounds weird huh? Well as much as I love to add this to a yummy cup of coffee ... I encourage you to try it in your favorite soda on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCoffeeQueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this to give as Christmas gifts one year and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to half the whiskey- and it was plenty! I would taste it before adding the full amount. MUCH cheaper than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup half & half. Only a drop of almond extract and cut the choclate down in half. Use only Jameson Irish whiskey and cut that down 1/3 cup. This is my third batch and I think I nailed it.The recipe calls for way too much almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made a double batch....Used 2 cups of segrams and turned out perfect..Also cut back on the almond extract .. used 1tsp in 2 batches... I'm very happy with the results...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe kicks balls. No need to reduce anything. I doesn't taste like commercial stuff-it's better and "real". I make it every year to go along with a home brewed stout for carbombs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apendecto

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe. I gave this as gifts for Christmas. Buy a decorative bottle to make a nice gift basket or use a small mason jar that fits nicely into a mug, put a bow on top and you're done. I also made a batch of Caramel Cream by substituting the whiskey with Caramel Vodka and the chocolate syrup with caramel syrup and omit the almond extract. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very strong. I will reduce the whiskey next time but overall, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This turned out surprisingly well, but holy cow, is it ever strong if you make according to the recipe! I started with 1 1/2 cups Jameson whiskey, and that was WAAYYYY too strong for me. I doubled the recipe keeping the 1 1/2 cups whiskey, and it's perfect. I also used some half n half in place of some of the cream as suggested by other reviewers, and I used a mocha syrup (homemade) and omitted the coffee granules. I also used only a tiny drop of almond for the whole 2x recipe, and I kept the mocha syrup at 2 TBS, also. I now have 3 jars in the fridge...one for me, and 2 for gifts. Judging from the taste now, this is definitely a keeper. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States