Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't feel the whiskey amount was too strong at all, but the heavy cream and almond extract ruined it for me. The heavy cream gave it a consistency I couldn't swallow and the almond extract was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I did put only 8 oz of Bailey's but, other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
eggcellent recipe!!!!! 2 much acohol tho. thx!! - mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Making this for the second time, amazing recipe! I must say though I don't think it tastes much like baileys - because its much much better. Given the fact that making this costs three times as much (where I live), if your looking for baileys taste, I say go buy a bottle of baileys.This is a much fresher, less artificial tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this recipe last weekend because I was craving Irish Cream but didn't have any. I read the reviews and the the only thing I changed was the amount of almond flavoring because it can be strong. I used about a scant 1/2 tsp. It was perfect, served it on the rocks for dessert...yummee. I actually preferred the flavor to store bought. Next time I think I will try using 1/2 & 1/2 only because I need to watch my fat intake. I'm sure it will also be delicious. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Keim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I read through all the suggestions/reviews before making and came up with the following balance - I only changed the amount of alcohol, since I didn't have irish whiskey, I used Chivas and only used 7 oz...I did try 10oz before, but find that 7 is the perfect balance. I also did not add the almond extract as we have allergies in our family and didn't want to take any chances. Other than these minor changes I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfect!! I plan on giving some bottled Irish cream as hostess gifts this x-mas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cut the almond extract in half and STILL it tastes like almond cream liqueur. Also, I cut the sweetness a bit by using half sweetened condensed milk and half evaporated milk (aka unsweetened condensed milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Amazingly good in a cup of ice cold Diet Coke! I know... sounds weird huh? Well as much as I love to add this to a yummy cup of coffee ... I encourage you to try it in your favorite soda on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCoffeeQueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this to give as Christmas gifts one year and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to half the whiskey- and it was plenty! I would taste it before adding the full amount. MUCH cheaper than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup half & half. Only a drop of almond extract and cut the choclate down in half. Use only Jameson Irish whiskey and cut that down 1/3 cup. This is my third batch and I think I nailed it.The recipe calls for way too much almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States