Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome. The almond makes it taste a tad different than Bailey's, which I like. Great for gifts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
HOKULANNI You nailed it! Simply excellent! Better than the bottle at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lageary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe many times,it is so good My sisters enjoyed it. Keep asking when I'm making again.--Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
overall it was fine. the cons: - whisky was too much, it turned out too strong - I am not new in cooking but followed the instruction to beat all in high speed - ended up with cream which turned to almost butter / separated mass - ended up straining - heating that mass a bit to make smooth and back to save all invested products - so every time before serving I had to shake the bottle for some minutes - this was impossible to add to coffee as the cream was bitten to butter and ended up being a fat in coffee cons still the taste was good will make again half portion, but will use less whiskey and will mix the only cream after all the ingredients are incorporated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiternik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Lucky I read the other reviews ahead of time and added the whiskey a little at a time till it was just right for my taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JocyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As is this is quite good, with a good kick. On my second batch I increased the coffee to 1 tbsp, and decreased the chocolate to 1.5 tbsp, which was certainly more to my taste. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
reply to KWATERS: those bottles are called "swingtop bottles". (specialtybottles.com) Please...I'm not spamming! It's the only place I found them. Buy by the case of 12 and shipping costs are drastically cut. AS FOR THIS RECIPE!!!! YUMMMMMMY! This Irish Cream is an excellent recipe to suit to your individual taste! I made the recipe exactly to a "T" the first time. However, I've adapted it to better suit my tastes! The heavy cream left a "greasy" coating on my palate, so I use fat free half & half. 2 Tb. less of condensed milk, 1 and 1/4 cups of whiskey, melted semi sweet choc. pieces instead of choc. syrup, and NO almond extract. My amended recipe is smooth and creamy in texture, and I don't have the problem of the heavy cream clogging up the neck of my swingtop bottles! lol For those of you having a "curdling" problem; Make sure your cream is FRESH! Also, blending it too long, will make "whipped cream" which will separate! I stir everything in a bowl with a whisk. THEN add the half & half LAST, stirring just until incorporated. I funnel it into the swingtop bottles.(label and date them). I've been making this Irish Cream for over 6 years now with RAVE reviews. Countless times, I've given the original recipe by, "Mom" (THANK YOU!) along with my improvised recipe, so that people may try both of them! One more thing, sipping this Irish Cream, right after making it, is NOT the way it will taste after 5-7 days in the refrigerator! The flavors MUST have time to meld. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The other raters are correct - as is, it is too strong. I made it twice. The 2nd time I used 1.5 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup half and half (same amt of Jameson Irish whiskey). I also only used a scant 1/8 teas of almond extract. Still plenty strong enough, and over ice... yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I mixed triple recipe and used some of it to fill 3 16oz bottles that were shaped like Christmas trees, put a $20 bill in a ribbon tied around the neck of each bottle and gave them as gifts to three adult grandchildren - with warning to never drink and drive - to use the $20 to call a taxi if necessary. The remaining cream was put in a "mason jar" (sort of an upscale moonshine?)and taken to a family/friends party and, after dinner it was served in small liqueur glasses. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States