Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good but not the best I've had and we made it almost to the letter. The extracts sort of take away from the real cream flavor.... and we cut the almond extract in half but it was too much. And there is too much Whiskey for our liking, so we did use less. It is possible letting it sit for a while could help mellow the flavors? We decided to make another recipe the second time and found one using real melted milk chocolate and no extracts, and I have to say that was by far superior to this recipe. Irish Cream Liqueur II is our favorite between the two from this site. I also think using real melted milk chocolate helped because using the chocolate syrup just made it taste a bit off. However, using the heavy cream is wonderful! I think you must try it before you knock it. That is what you're making after all... Irish CREAM... not Irish Milk. So splurge and use the cream before you decide to change that ingredient. You'll be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Delicious and easy! I used regular cream and light chocolate syrup to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow...This is so good!! I did use half N half in place of the heavy cream, and cut the almond flavoring to 1/4 tsp, otherwise everything else to the T. Just made a double batch again today. I like this with a little coffee and lots of ice. Thanks for sharing your recipe Mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I liked it, but had to double up the recipe(that's why I gave it a 3 star only). The amount of whiskey was too much for my taste. The rating should be on the recipe the way it is written not on what you made out of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy!!!! I make at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Awesome. Perfect and easy as-is. It saved my Irish Cream cheesecake when I ran out of Bailey's...now I'll never buy it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very yummy! Instead of 1 c. heavy cream, I used 3/4 c. heavy cream and 1/4 c. 1% milk. Used The Irishman Irish Whiskey and reduced amt. used to 1 c. Also reduced the almond extract to 1/2 tsp. Mixed it with the emulsion blender and slowly poured the whiskey in to prevent curdling. Let develop overnight. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Recipe, the way I know is to let sit in refrigerator for at least 2 weeks or up to a month before drinking it. The longer it sits the better it is, it mellows out. The recipe I'm familiar with doesn't call for almond extract (which I think I would like, will have to try)and like others said you can sustitute the heavy cream for half and half or whole milk. Try making ahead and you will notice a BIG difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Perfect! This is my favorite Irish Cream recipe!! But I do usually add extra whiskey and chocolate syrup. I don't typically have instant coffee in the house, so I just pour in some leftover coffee from the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States