Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Really good!! I followed some other reviewer's advice and used 1/2 and 1/2 and I don't care for almond extract, so I omitted that. My 11 year old daughter makes this all the time for our family.....(she wants to be a chef!) so I supervise and she does a great job!! No need to judge.....LOL! Great recipe, very tasty and so cheap to make! Thanks for a fantastic post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have made this for several years. I use light cream instead of heavy and it is perfect. I prefer a little lighter/thinner cocktail! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very yummy and easy to make. My only complaint is that it is pretty darn thick which can possibly be offputting to someone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love this! I use it in some of my cakes! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy, yummy, great gift...I am not giving the full 5 stars simply because I did change it a little. I reduced the whiskey for my taste and used half and half, which I also increased in the end as well. Over all a great starting point that you can very easily tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delish!! I followed the recipe exactly. I think there may be a bit too much chocolate syrup to be exactly like Bailey's. I will cut back some next time...and there will be a next time! So thick and rich and delicious....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed the substitutions posted here, used half and half instead of heavy cream, decreased to 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and decreased the whiskey to 7 oz. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
this stuff was really good. my family loves Bailey's (we're irish afterall), and this stuff was a hit. i went easy on the almond extract, as the reviews suggested...however, i went heavy on the jameson, cause that's how my family rolls. i might try it again with less chocolate and use half & half instead of heavy cream... it was VERY thick. not sure if i would let it sit overnight, my dad said it was better freshly blended. great recipe, will make it again for holiday gifts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is yummy, but I did cut down the whiskey to 1 C. I make it for gifts and always get a great response. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonusformom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I like this recipe very much, but like others, I find the original too strong, so I use about 3/4 to 1 cup of whiskey. I also find it a bit too sweet for my taste, so I cut the amount of sweetened condensed milk in half. To make up for the lack of volume, I use 1 and 1/4 cup of cream or half and half (I actually prefer half and half) and instead of instant coffee granules, I use 1/2 cup of strong brewed coffee. I also use only 1/8 tsp of almond extract along with 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of coconut extract. I realize this is a lot of 'amending' but with any recipe you tend to adapt it to your own tastes. I do really like that this recipe doesn't use raw eggs or that awful powdered coffee "creamer". I like to buy top shelf ingredients and I can do that with this recipe. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States