Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First, for those that are thinking "Bailey's"... forget it. This is not a copy-cat recipe. I say that because I had been hoping that it would be something akin to Bailey's and I was disappointed. Now, having said that, it's not too bad for a cream-liquor drink and I will probably make it again (with some modifications). I followed the recipe exactly except that I doubled everything in order to fill one of my 1/2 gallon growlers. Doubling everything makes a little more than a 1/2 gallon. Also, I used an entire 750ml (25 oz) bottle of Jameson Irish Whiskey so 1 2/3 C of whiskey was off just a small amount (.0975oz). As written, this recipe is 3-stars (OK). When I make it again, I will be cutting the amount of chocolate syrup in half. I'm not a huge chocolate milk fan and this recipe was too much like chocolate milk for my liking. Other than that, I will keep everything else the same. Unlike many, I didn't find the almond extract overpowering nor the amount of whiskey too strong; but to each his/her own. I would suggest trying it as written first... then decide on what adjustments need to be implemented. Don't assume that because someone else says that "... its too strong..." that you will find it to be true for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tietjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
delicious & easy to make. I like it thinner so I use half & half (called coffee cream in Nova Scotia) instead of the heavy cream. Cut the whiskey down to 1 1/2 C and a few times skipped the almond flavouring when I ran out. It's more authentic with 1/2 tsp almond but still delicious. I never have instant coffee so I use the bottom of the pot ( 1/4 C) or a brewed pod of espresso. You can play with the recipe and it stays good. I always add the cream to the whiskey, not other way around and it never curdles. And I always use Jamiesons whiskey. No playing with that part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Sorry - I usually don't give one star - but this was a fail in my opinion. Far to liquid - none of the "thickness" that you feel when you drink Baileys. Also - far too much whiskey - Baileys is in no way this overpowering. I will save it and see if I can use it in other recipes - like a pound cake or ice cream recipe. If you want Baileys - just buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I make this all the time, I am very popular where I used to work and where I live, everybody loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
OMG, this is the most delicious thing I ever drank! It's so additive I had to stop making it so often, I put on a couple pounds after discovering this fabulous recipe. I have made it numerous times, as posted, and tweaked various ways. As posted is hands down the best, with the only exception being that it was too strong for me. I didn't want a "shooter" I wanted something to sip. I did cut back on the amount of whiskey, but it's too good to sip. I usually slurp it down. Thank you mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimcooks4u
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very easy, common ingredients. I only had about a cup of whiskey when I decided to make this during a snow storm and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made it a few times. The first time was exactly as printed but found it a bit too thick for my liking. The next time I used "light" cream instead of heavy but it turned out a bit too thin. Using 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup light cream made it just right. All three ways were absolutely delicious, however I'm just huge consistency fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Ferraro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have made this many times. It's almost exactly the same as my grandmothers recipe. I usually add less rye as its a little strong on what's called for here. And u can use milk if u want to lighten the fat content a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaza Sav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windworks
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I love this recipe..so easy and people really love it. I put homemade labels on the bottles for holiday gifts. The only change I made was adding about 3/4 teaspoon of coconut extract...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I have been making this for the Christmas holidays for many years. I don't use 1 cup of heavy cream. I use 1/2 up heavy cream and 1 to 1 1/2 cups fat free half and half. I also cut almond extract to 1/2 teaspoon. Using fat free half and half helps keep calories down a little, especially during a season of rich foods and drinks. I have not used skim milk as I like a creamier version. I usually use 1 1/2 cups of Black Velvet. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States