Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
These came out great. I cheated though and used a dairy case ready-made piecrust. I added a tablespoon of raisins, and about a teaspoon and a half of chopped pecans into the center of each apple. My husband really loved these apple dumplings, especially when served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
These are better than apple pie! I made these for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved them and SO DID I! I absolutely love the way they were individual and the sauce was excellent! Although, mine cooked in approx. 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Perfect, perfect. Everyone raved about these. Made for my kids birthday party dinner and they turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was a simply delicious recipe. very rich in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made these and we loved them! I cut the water mixture in half and it was plenty. I only made 6 and I used the premade pie dough! My husband said they were so good and didn't even need ice cream if you can imagine that! Well worth a try. Thanks Micki for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
These were excellent! I had a lot of trouble rolling out the dough out all at once. Next time, I will divide the dough into 6 pieces and roll each out individual circles. As I cooked it, I thought the sugar-water sauce seemed way too thin and there seemed to be way too much so I only added about a third of it to the pan. In the end, the sauce cooked down and I wished I had added it all to the pan. Next time I will follow the directions exactly.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNITTINQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I have never made Apple Dumplings before, but had some great looking apples and thought I would give it a try. I just got them out of the oven and tested my first one... These are so wonderful! and beautiful. I cut the water by a half cup and added more butter than called for. I also used premade pie crust, so it was so easy. I also basted the dumplings a few times with the syrup while they were cooking, gave the dumplings a nice glaze. These are gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very, very good. I was a little short on pie dough (I made my own) but the recipe was very good. The apples were nice and tender and the crust was not doughy but crispy and browned well. I topped it with some hot buttered rum batter from this sight. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good! Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this recipe for Sunday dinner at a friend's house and, they were a hit! Everyone loved the sauce especially with ice cream. I used the 'best ever pie crust' recipe from this site. Very filling and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYMCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States