Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were wonderful as promised, just as the recipe calls for. I'm sure playing around with the caramel sauce would be a nice change to though. HELPFUL HINT: These can be made at least 1 day in advance if you need to. First, swish your peeled apples in a bowl of water and 2 TBSP lemon juice to stop them from browning. Then wrap as directed. Place dumplings in the pan and cover tightly with plastic wrap so no air is touching the pastry. Make the sauce as directed, and pour into a container and place in the fridge when cool. When you are ready to bake, just pour the sauce over the dumplings and bake as directed! MMMM Good. I make these before we leave to go camping and have them the first night. We cook them in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These are wonderful! Exactly like my grandma's. To the person "Beginner Cook" who reviewed these before me - it sounds like you may have used the wrong type of apples. Granny Smith are best for baking. Did you use an "eating" apple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was pretty good, I am a beginner cook. And somehow messed this up, my apples tasted good, however; they had the texture of like chewed up mike n' ikes. That gel candy. Kinda very gel like. Anyway, I cook at 400 degrees for exactly 1hr. at the middle shelf. Where may I have gone wrong? Can anyone give me a pointer??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
All i have to say is...So...Freaking...GOOD!!!!!!!!!! So it took me a little longer than 30 minutes for prep, and i may have forgotten to peel the apples, but holy cow this was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
FANTASTIC! These really weren't difficult to make and the sauce poured over the top to serve was absolute heaven! Try this recipe - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Everything was wonder, baked it a little longer than instructed and I liked it very much. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Since the market didn't have large Granny Smith apples I bought 8 smaller ones. I also bought pre-made roll out pie crust, and cut them into 4 pieces. Roll them out into triangles and it was easy to wrap the apples in them. It was my first time making apple dumplings and didn't really know what to expect, I can tell you this...This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is the first time I have ever made or tasted an apple dumpling. I had some apples I needed to use up so I thought I would try to make them. I used McIntosh because that is what I had on hand. I will try with the Granny Smiths the next time I make them. They are a little time consuming but totally worth it. I sprinkled a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg on the top before baking. They tasted wonderful. My husband liked them too. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wow! This recipe is wonderful. I like apple pie, but this I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made these with my 9 year old daughter. So easy and fun to made, turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Woodard

Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States