Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made this recipe and everyone LOVED it. I did a few things different. 1 I used store bought dough. 2 I used macintosh apples because that is what I already had.3 I missed a step when making these and instead of putting the cin and nutmeg mixture on the apples before pinching the dough I did it after already sealing the apples in. It was still AMAZINg and I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely divine. I made these for my husband and kids, they devoured it and my 4 year old asked for 2nds (and was denied of course!) I felt the recipe was fairly easy. I followed it to a T. Thanks so much for posting, this will be a regular around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tinkerzazz
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
best recipe I have ever used for these! Taste just like moms! I was out of white sugar for the syrup so used brown sugar, came out perfectly! Wrapped them in Basic Flaky Pie Crust By: stephanie found on this site was perfect. Will make them again and again! Don't be leary about adding the syrup. My first reaction was it was way to thin and was going to turn the pastry to mush. I was wrong, as it cooled it made this wonderful buttery caramel flavored topping for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerzazz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
came out amazing !!! looove it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna silence
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect! I made these for my husband's birthday and the whole family loved them! I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the sauce before boiling and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I also used the store-brought pie crust and I didn't have Granny Smiths so used Gala apples. This is THE best apple dumpling recipe and a huge hit with my family. No need to adjust anything in the recipe. I did double the recipe and made 1 1/2 recipes of the sauce for my 10x15 pan, seemed like a lot, but turned out yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
way tooo sweet! the sauce was too much and the 1 hour it says to cook was too long.. my apples were complete mush.. so sad.. i was looking forward to a great apple dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were very yummy! They have a fantastic carmel that gets made while baking. So So good! Perfect on ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I don't usually write a review, but this recipe is spectacular! This was my first attempt at dumplings and they turned out perfect. I didn't change a thing. Thank you Micki for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States