Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were awesome! Might try cutting back a little bit on the white sugar next time, but I was told to not mess with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
delicious!!!! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn Harvie
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I like my sauce more like syrup. :) I only used about 2 cups water but used the same amount of sugar and added cinnamon. In each apple I used only 1/4 of the amount that it called for. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
great!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I also added about 1/3 cup raisins (pre-soaked in warm brandy) to the brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture inside the cored apples. I liked the tartness of the Granny Smith because the syrup was sweet and the apples helped it not be too much so. This was delicious and I will make it again for special occasions (in the fall/winter, most likely). I did cut the recipe down to only two apples/servings and it was still wonderful. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These were the best apple dumplings I've ever had! I used a prepared double crust from Trader Joes. Each crust made 4 dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly. My family and friends raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My whole family loved these! They were super easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is a definite winner! I made it for my husband's birthday and he can't stop talking about how good they were. I didn't use quite as much butter in each apple as suggested (about half), but everything else was exactly as suggested. Just perfect with a scoop of French Vanilla ice cream and some of the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It is Awesome recipe!!!! Super delicious!!!! I didn't use white sugar instead: splenda and it works perfectly, also as a pastry I used the croissants dough and a rectangle for each apple. Garnish with pecans! Mmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family and my boyfriend's family thoroughly enjoyed this dessert for thanksgiving! I doubled the recipe. I used 6 northern spy apples and cut each one in half. I then cored and peeled them. I bought pie crust at the store (for 12 dumplings, I ended up using 3 boxes of Pillsbury double crust pie crusts). I took a pie crust and cut it in half. I put an apple half on each half of crust and put 1/16 cup of butter on each (cut butter into 8 pieces, then cut each in half). On top of the butter, I sprinkled two palmfuls of brown sugar, some cinnamon, some nutmeg, and some ginger. In four of them, I added craisins on top and aroung the apple before folding it up - I marked those with craisins on top. I placed 6 dumplings in each pan and kept them in the fridge overnight (I made them the day before thanksgiving). I made the sauce (doubled and following all of the directions - I used one stick of butter) the night before and refrigerated that, as well. The next day, the butter in the sauce had become solid again, but that didn't matter. I brought it to a boil again and after 5 minutes, divided it between the 2 pans, and put them in the oven for 50 minutes. They turned out perfectly, and I served them with vanilla ice cream. My family only ate 6, so I brought the rest to my boyfriend's family the next day. They were actually wonderful reheated, too. Great recipe!!! I got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States