Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I used the premade pie crusts from the store, and it turned out great. I also made a couple sauces to go with them. A vanilla sauce, and a cinnamon sugar sauce. Both yummy over the apples! No leftovers. I also made them for breakfast when I had some friends over. I served them with scrambled egg crescent cups, and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh these are just like grandma used to make. The sauce is awesome!! I used about 1/2 cup less water because I boiled the sauce in the microwave and didn't want it to overflow. It will if you don't watch it carefully --so make sure if you do it in the microwave you use a big enough glass bowl. I added about 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar to the sauce instead of light brown and it gave it a rich flavor. What can I say but yum?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
These are the true old-fashioned apple dumplings! The sauce is awesome. They aren't difficult, and were kind of fun to make. I think you could even use store-bought pie dough if you aren't good at making your own. I think these are a true comfort food. Try them! Danny R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE! I made this last sat nite and it turned out wonderful! The only thing I could say to make it easier and taste better, is when making the crust, you can use those ready-made pie crusts from the store, and you can make 2 (half an apple per dumpling) dumplings per pie crust, OR can use a whole crust if you want to use a whole apple per dumpling. I only used 1/2 of green apples (gave great tart flavor with the sweetness) per dumpling, with 1/8 stick of butter and added brown sugar/cinnamon, and nutmeg to personal taste. I cooked this for 50 mins at the stated temperature, and it all cooked thoroughly well. When you serve this, don't poor more juice over the dumpling, this makes it too rich. You do want to poor the juice over the dumplings before cooking, but not after. The crunchiness at the top and cinnamon softness at the bottom with vanilla ice cream gives a perfect tecture of a warm & cold treat for the mouth. Great for having friends over! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuthernScott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I've made these a couple of times w/ a ready-made crust & homemade. A little involved to make but both looked impressive and were DELICIOUS. Sauce could be improved, instead, use the following caramel sauce from another recipe on this site: 1 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup butter 2 tablespoons light corn syrup Heat brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter until melted. **Remove from heat** stir in corn syrup. (Add crushed pecans w/ sauce for a beautiful presentation!) Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbolton07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
First, I scaled this recipe down to 4 servings. I really wanted to take this one step further and make as close to my Nanny's recipe as possible. She always used canned biscuits. So I substituted Pillsbury Buttermilk Golden Layer biscuits for the pie crust. I used 2 1/2 rolled biscuits for each apple. Wrapping each apple and gently closing the tops. Then I cooked in a 350 degree oven for approximately 50 minutes. The real secret is to keep basting the apples with your sauce about every 10 minutes to keep the crust nicely glazed, which will bake to a beautiful golden crust. I served this with homemade vanilla ice cream. My husband says it is the best ever! This is definitely a "MUST HAVE" recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
These were excellent! I had a lot of trouble rolling out the dough out all at once. Next time, I will divide the dough into 6 pieces and roll each out individual circles. As I cooked it, I thought the sugar-water sauce seemed way too thin and there seemed to be way too much so I only added about a third of it to the pan. In the end, the sauce cooked down and I wished I had added it all to the pan. Next time I will follow the directions exactly.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNITTINQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
i love apple pie, but this take the cake. i have make this recipe 3xs and everyone raved about it. the first time i made it i cut the sauce in 1\2. don't, it needs the sauce for pouring over dumpling after they are cooked, thanks for this recipe. no more apple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This had an OK taste to it. I used the recipe for Buttery Flaky Pie Crust (which was great) for the shell. I tried it with granny smith apples but I liked rome apples better. So did everyone else. End result was everyone really liked the shell just not the apple part. So still looking for grandma's apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
mmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States