Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Since the market didn't have large Granny Smith apples I bought 8 smaller ones. I also bought pre-made roll out pie crust, and cut them into 4 pieces. Roll them out into triangles and it was easy to wrap the apples in them. It was my first time making apple dumplings and didn't really know what to expect, I can tell you this...This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is the first time I have ever made or tasted an apple dumpling. I had some apples I needed to use up so I thought I would try to make them. I used McIntosh because that is what I had on hand. I will try with the Granny Smiths the next time I make them. They are a little time consuming but totally worth it. I sprinkled a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg on the top before baking. They tasted wonderful. My husband liked them too. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wow! This recipe is wonderful. I like apple pie, but this I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Made these with my 9 year old daughter. So easy and fun to made, turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARTYOFSIX00
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My dad loves apples, i made these for a special treat when he was mad at me one day... this REALLY improved his mood...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
WOW, I made these just to use up some frozen pie crust that I wanted to get rid of, and some granny smiths that aren't getting eaten fast enough. I am not a fan of apple desserts but I thought I give these a try; maybe someone in my family would eat them. Looking at the picture, the sauce made me a bit queasy. Looks pretty syrupy sweet, but the reviews intrigued me. I had to give it a go. I made them tonight and tried 1/2 of one just to see.....OH MY !! These are EXCELLENT! The flavor of the syrup isn't sickeningly sweet like I was afraid of, it's got a nice vanilla taste, not too heavy. My husband was raving about the one he ate too! They are really rather easy to make...except for peeling and coring the apples...torture for me; but otherwise, basic and easy and SOOO worth it. My dad loves apple dumplings and I can't wait to make some for him soon. For those of you who may have to wrestle with the pie crust (kept breaking, etc.) I finally just wet my hands and squeezed around the apple and plastered that crust on the best I could. They didn't look beautiful, but they were pretty well encased. This was well worth the experiment after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Well, these were loved by everyone at Thanksgiving & have replaced apple pie on our table forever! They are time consuming to prepare, but I did mine the day before and baked 15 - 20 minutes longer while we sat down to dinner & they came out perfectly. I used small(ish) Granny Smiths and because my butter was so small, I just added the spices to the softened butter and stuffed the hollowed cores with the softened spiced butter. Again, a really delicious recipe that was made ahead and loved by everyone in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
DELICIOUS! I used store bought pie crusts and it came out great with Jonagold apples. If your apples are really sweet, you may want to cut the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
they may not be the best looking dumpling on the block, but they sure taste good. used store bought pie dough(mrs. smith's) and added more brown sugar and cinnamon. served warm with vanilla ice cream and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
OMG were these GOOD!!! Please don't use the "biscuit or cresent roll" ones!! I did - two weeks ago - last week I made these----to die for! Beings I knew we would overeat I decided to freeze some - so I put them in bread pans and poured the cooled sauce into a sandwich bag to stuff inside the pan - cover the pan with wrap and foil and stuck'em in the freezer. Can't waite to have them again tonight!! Oh yes - I baked them for 20 minutes then poured the sauce on and finished baking them. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States