Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe, I made it with a home made crust and it was great. Only thing I did differently was add glaze to the final product, which I would not recommend doing as I felt like the sugar was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is one of the best dessert recipes I have ever made. Very easy, very delicious--and unbelievable when served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Like others, I made each dumpling with half an apple, instead of a whole--the whole is too big for one serving. I also saved the left-over incredible syrup to use for ice-cream topping. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Out of this world!!!! The best apple dumpling I've ever had...and simple to make. Try this! You will be smiling until your bowl is empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! I made it with my own home-made pastry, used Honeycrisp apples, replaced the white sugar with brown and added some ground clove. At first, I was a little afraid the sauce would be too sticky or make the pastry too gummy, but it turned out great! I've made it with whole apples and half apples (for slightly smaller servings). I will be making these often! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
this recipe was so awesome. I used the recipe for "French Pastry Pie Crust" on this site. I kind of messed up the sauce because I ran out of butter, but it still turned out delish!! Will be making these for my thanksgiving party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chamberfamfl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
awesome recipe! followed the recipe the first time, came out great. second time, added some cloves for more depth of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Awesome! We had these last night and they were great! I did use store bought pie shells.(had them on hand) Served them warm with whipped cream! Yum! Will be making these again soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen T.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
just made these today, and i can't believe how wonderful they turned out! will never make apple pie again, this was hands down better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Recipe is a keeper. There is a problem with the butter though. It does not state how much butter to use in the sauce or how much to use in the dumplings themselves.So you have to guess at it. Also suggest that you make six portions of dough and role them out individually for each apple. Also depending on the size of the apples, you should make a minimum double crust recipe for a 10" pie. I used medium sized apples, not large as the recipe called for and had barely enough dough for the crust. Less than that you will not have enough.crust for the dumplings. that would be 2 &2/3 cup of flour or 374 grams; 1 cup of shortening; 1 tsp salt; and 7.5 tbs of chilled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States