Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Strangely, my store bought double crust was enough for only 2 apples. Those two were delicious. I'm going to go get an apple corer for the next time. For, there will be a next time! I served them warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My sauce was more like taffy, very thick and chewy. We also decided we like to have the apples sliced and coated with sugar and spice, so that each piece is sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have to say this was a great recipie. These apple dumplings turned out fabulous!! I used a basic butter pie crust and I added a spoon of cinnamon to the sauce when I heated it up in the sauce pan. I topped them with homemade whipped cream at serving time and they were just so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I had never even heard of an apple dumpling but ohhh my goodness i'm glad I have now! When I first came across this recipe I was kinda nervous dumping all the liquid in with the wrapped apples but it made the best sauce! This is really worth making...again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good. worth making again for sure! The only things I changed were substituting 1/2 c of brown sugar and then 1 1/2 c. of white sugar for the syrup. I also put in an 8x11 pan and it filled it nicely. Basted the apple dumplings with the sauce about once every 10-15 minutes, which helped create a nice, crusty, golden crust- mmmm mmmm!! :) I also topped with a few chopped walnuts. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
The best dumplings ever! No alterations needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe, I made it with a home made crust and it was great. Only thing I did differently was add glaze to the final product, which I would not recommend doing as I felt like the sugar was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is one of the best dessert recipes I have ever made. Very easy, very delicious--and unbelievable when served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Like others, I made each dumpling with half an apple, instead of a whole--the whole is too big for one serving. I also saved the left-over incredible syrup to use for ice-cream topping. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Out of this world!!!! The best apple dumpling I've ever had...and simple to make. Try this! You will be smiling until your bowl is empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! I made it with my own home-made pastry, used Honeycrisp apples, replaced the white sugar with brown and added some ground clove. At first, I was a little afraid the sauce would be too sticky or make the pastry too gummy, but it turned out great! I've made it with whole apples and half apples (for slightly smaller servings). I will be making these often! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States