Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
this is what my Mother used to cook for us children when I was a small boy but always remember this treat during the fall months, I regretted being able to get this recipe from my mother before she passed. I have fixed this for my grandchildren and their reaction was the same as mine when I was young, we make it often now and has become a favorite fall treat and all the daughter in laws have copied the recipe for them self's. I have not changed anything to this recipe it is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellyhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I didn't have time to make the dough from scratch, so I took an idea from another chef on here and used Pillsbury's crescent rolls (someone else used biscuits but same thing). They were excellent! Yes, very sweet - something like a Cinnabon - and I had to put foil on the top and bake longer than an hour (at 350). Can't wait to make these again, with dough from scratch! Excellent sauce and as everyone says - don't mind how watery it is; that will change as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaGirl2014
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendis
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Takes a little time but results are well worth it. Don't skimp on the sauce. It does seem like its too much but after basting during the cooking process and pouring over the scoop of vanilla ice cream that compliments the dumpling...delish! Everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Wanted to try and make "dumplings like Mom used to make" and this was it! Have made several times now. Sometimes you have to cut the sweetness with a little vanilla ice cream:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn Hillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These apple dumplings were INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were fabulous! I made them for a family dinner and they were a big hit with everyone. I did mix the spices (adding a dash of ginger) into the brown sugar and then use ~1Tbsp. sugar mixture per apple. I also only used 1/2 Tbsp. butter per apple. I also added a few dashes of the same spices to the sauce/syrup to tie all the favors together. I used my own crust recipe. For those stating their apples became mush, it has to do with the type of apple you used most likely. Granny Smith are good baking apples and mine were perfect at one hour baking time. I followed the majority of reviewers suggestion to make & use all of the sauce or syrup on the apples while baking. I will not do that next time. I will make half and use enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Then I will use the remainder to 'baste' the apples every few minutes. The syrup was excellent, but, even though we spooned it over them again when serving, there was a lot left and wasted. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I guess I prefer apple crisp vs. dumplings, but my family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were delicious! I made six on Sunday and I/we finished off the last one today (Tuesday).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was great! I cheates and used the ready to use refrigerated pie crust.. still was excellent. Only I think next time I will change the sauce. ..I like mine thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these and they were the best ever!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States