Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
For those of you having trouble with the cookies being, dry, crumbly, or are having trouble removing them from the cookie sheet, it's probably because there is not enough butter in the dough. Try a full cup of butter, not 3/4 cup. For those having trouble with flat cookies, simply refrigerate your dough until it is somewhat firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These cookies are sooo yummy! I took some of the suggestions and lowered the temperature to 350 also and baked for about 9 minutes. I also refrigerated the dough for about 5 minutes and greased the cookie sheets with Pam. They turned out chewy and disappeared quickly! Thanks for the great recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These cookies are scrumptious! I can remember my mom making these for me when I was younger and we called them "Oatmeal Scotties" - I did make a few changes in the cooking temperature. I lowered the baking temperature to 350 degrees, and baked for 8 minutes. I lined the cookie sheet w/ parchment, and after I had baked the cookies, I let them cool for about 5 minutes, and had no problem w/ the cookies sticking to the pan, or breaking, etc., They were very soft, and not brittle...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was a nice, classic cookie. I like my cookies to be soft and chewy so I took the advice of another review and cooked at 350 for about 9 minutes. Those were perfect for me. My husband likes crunchy cookies, so his were cooked for about 12-13 minutes. He's thrilled - I'm thrilled. Everyone's happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
These cookies taste great, just as I remember as a kid. However, my cookies spread significantly and were very thin and lacy. I prefer a somewhat thicker cookie, and after adding extra four to the remaining dough, had the perfect oatmel butterscotch cookie. I would strongly suggest adding an additional 1/2 cup of flour to the batter for thicker cookies that don't spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These are good, but they're PERFECT if you only bake them 6.5-7 minutes. Nice and chewy and just PERFECT. These are now my trademark cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Greenville, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These cookies were very yummy! I only used 1 cup of mini butterscotch chips, and they turned out fine! I think I will use a little less sugar, and a little more cinamon and vanilla the next time I make them. Using parchment paper definitely made it easier. They did stick to the cookie sheet on the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Neither myself or my fiance really care for butterscotch, but I decided to make these for a welcomed change... and WOW!!! We both loved these- the textures and tastes were fantastic. I found it useful to cool the dough a little in order to keep them from flattening out. I made cookies twice the stated size and baked them for a few minutes more and they were delicious. Thanks Jolene! This recipe is a keeper- next time I'll try raisins in place of the chips. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
These are fantastic tasting cookies!!! The only reccomendation I have is to grease the cookie sheet, as they are a little hard to get off of the pan. Other than that would not change a thing. Huge Hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I loved these cookies growing up! This recipe is pretty good. I like them more soft and chewy, so make them big drops and take them out just as the edges are set, just a touch golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States