Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made these cookies just as the recipe said, and they turned out terrible. The dough tasted really good, but the cookies were so flat the pan was showing through and the cookies were so stuck to the pan I was literally prying them off. I was very disappointed with this. I will not be making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great taste, cookies will be FLAT, not thick, no matter what. Significant flour vs oats ratio needed. Also, took 8 minutes to cook for me, no idea why. Not making ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Wonderful! These were a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These cookies are fantastic. I baked them for 10 minutes at 350 and they came out chewy and perfect, that was the only change I made to the recipe. I found them very sweet though, and the recipe made more cookies than I expected. Worth making for sure, and I would definitely make again over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is a solid oatmeal cookie recipe. I followed the recipe as written and agree with other reviews that one cup of butter is better but may be a bit much unless you adore rich and buttery. I suspect some of the other issues in the reviews may be due to technique, not the recipe. With any mix, such as cookies, brownies or bars, over mixing causes a flat hard product. After creaming the butter, eggs, sugars and vanilla, mix the remaining dry ingredients by hand or very carefully with a mixer. You do not want to mix the flour completely in and should clearly still see flour in the mix. With a recipe where you are adding oats, nuts, or chips at the end...mix the flour even less. I cheat and use my mixer...I just pop it on and off, scrap the sides of the bowl (yeah, that's important) and do it again til the flour is just barely mixed in. For those getting a lacy cookie...did you use quick oats or the full "old fashioned" oats? I would suggest the old fashioned type oats that have all the fiber or add more flour for the quick oats. I baked at 375 for 9 mins and got a cookie that was brown on the edge and just barely cooked in the middle. Shiny not doughy. Bake for 11 minutes for a crunchy cookie. I hope this helps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great Recipe. I also added more butter and because of the comments on the sweetness reduced the butterscotch chips slightly and reduced the heat to 350. I chilled for 10 minutes before baking and sprayed cooking sheet. These tips made the cookies turn out perfect. Plan on sending a batch to my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These cookies were good. Chewy with a touch of sweetness from the butterscotch chips. Unfortunately, the boyfriend isn't a big fan of oats, so I ended up bringing them to work. They were almost all gobbled up by the end of the day and I couldn't stop snacking on them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
When I told my husband I was making oatmeal cookies, he turned up his nose and said "I guess." When my husband ate THESE oatmeal cookies, he couldn't get enough!! - To make these cookies faster I use a cookie sheet and my muffin tin. Surprisingly, the ones in the muffin tin got nice and thick and were even better tasting! Just a fun idea if you're in a rush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
THE SECRET: If you have trouble with this cookies turning out too thin and sticking to the cookie sheet, simply substitute 1 cup of butter-flavored shortening for the butter. The cookies will turn out with a much better texture--denser, more height. So simple, yet so effective!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had a really hard time not just grabbing the bowl of cookie dough and eating with a spoon. Turns out the cookies were really good when they were baked too! However, I did follow a couple of the other reviews - extra 1/4 of butter, extra 1/2 cup of flour and reduce temp to 350 F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noahsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States