No Bake Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Great recipe! These are very chocolaty with a hint of peanut butter. These disappeared with amazing speed! I am in Denver at high altitude and will increase the boil time very slightly, maybe 2 minutes, for a better set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanaZpants

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I was given a hostess gift of a jar of Peach Amaretto Pecan Honey Butter which was looking for a recipe. Given the heat, this seemed a good choice. Replacing the peanut butter with this gave these a flavor that is much more complex (and really good), although I do remember liking the original flavor from childhood as well. Given that change, I reduced the sugar to one cup only and added an extra half cup of oatmeal. I wish I would have tossed in some chopped pecans as well, both for texture and for the salt.. If you are looking to reduce the sugar amount I think you could easily use one cup no matter what additions you would make as these are very sweet. Adding coconut would also be a good option to add to the texture. The instructions for these are perfect. I did put them in cupcake liners given other reviews of not setting up. It wasn't necessary, although turned out to be a good choice as I tossed them all into ziplocs and then into the freezer. Take one out and let it sit 5 minutes on the counter. The paper peels easily, you can use it as a finger-protector and it this makes a really nice, cool summertime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Try substituting 1 pack of any maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal within the 3 cups required. It adds a unique and flavorful aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really easy to make. I used creamy peanut butter rather than crunchy and it was still good. I also added about a half cup more oatmeal and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Yummy! Just like I remember them! I took the advice of previous reviewers and boiled until the cocoa mixture got to the soft ball stage. That took 2 minutes. They were soft enough to hold together and not be crumbly, but I think that next time I'll pull them off the heat just a little bit earlier because I like them more on the gooey side. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Made these today. Delicious! No problems whatsoever with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My mamaw made these for us when I was a girl and now I make them for my own grandchildren. Here's the trick for nice, firm cookies -- do not make them when it's raining. High humidity keeps the cookies from "setting". But they're always good on a spoon! Another trick is to keep them in a ziplock bag in your freezer. It keeps them tasting fresh like the day you make them. My grandmother called them "boiled cookies", but my granddaughter calls them "frozen cookies":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I've made these from memory since I was about ten years old. I decided to see how this recipe compares to the one given to me by my mother. It's close to identical. Just a couple of tips: add a quarter tsp of salt to the sugar/cocoa and use real butter; also, use a little more peanut butter than the recipe calls for and an additional tsp of vanilla (amazing how much difference this makes!). Also, the key - as others have mentioned - is the right boiling time. I've messed up so many batches this way. The 1.5 minutes is PERFECT. But you have to wait until it comes to a full rolling boil to start the countdown. Don't wait too long or you'll get a dry nasty batch, and don't start too soon or you'll end up with cookies that never set. GREAT recipe here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! The only thing I changed about it was using creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy. Other than that the cookies were delicious. defiantly going to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States