Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Really tough but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
YUM! These were salty, yummy heaven! A few technical errors (I was making these with two over-eager eight year old kids), but all in all a great recipe. Tips: I added 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda and tried to coax the kids into rolling them as thinly as possible (They failed to do so half the time.) We cooked them in a typical pan, and every time we cooked one I put a dab of butter and put the rolled dough over it. (The more butter, the saltier and bubblier they'll be!) The first time I set the dough in a bowl and covered it, it didn't rise. My problem: Too cool of an environment and I had forgot to transfer it to a plastic bowl! But after (punching and flipping then) putting the dough in a medium sized plastic bowl and covering, it rose within an hour. Also, the second time they rise, try to cook them ASAP. I left mine for a half hour too long, and they got semi-tough on the top. I assume that's why they didn't thin so nicely. All in all, great recipe and will be used again in the near future! My fam loves them with hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
UPDATED 1/1/2014: This recipe has replaced our other naan recipe in our Family Favorites cookbook! I use an additional 1 tsp yeast (3-1/4 tsp yeast total), yogurt in place of the milk, add 1/2 tsp baking soda, and use 4 cups flour- all in the bread machine. Let yeast, water, and sugar proof about 10 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. We roll out and let rise for at least 10 minutes before cooking. We love the flavor, the texture with the changes we made, and the ease of preparing such a large quantity. With these changes, increasing to 5 stars! Thanks Mic for posting, and other reviewers for sharing your tips! ORIGINAL: I tried this after realizing I didn't have yogurt to use in our usual naan recipe. I mixed it in the bread machine, using buttermilk, 4 cups flour, and adding 1/2 tsp baking soda. We didn't use the garlic this time, but it sounds great. I cooked them in an iron skillet. The first naan I cooked was more pancake-like and tough. I rolled all the other pieces out and let them rest before cooking, and they had a better texture. In future, I will roll them all out for the final rise before cooking. My family said they liked this texture much better than our usual recipe- it's thinner and less bread-y. We'll definitely be making this our go-to naan recipe from now on. The bread machine does most of the work, it makes a nice quantity, and it tasted good. I will be tweaking it to try to get a more tender texture, and will update later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Amazing! We usually just by naan at the store but this was way better and you get more bang for you buck! It does take some extra time, but so worth it! I followed the recipe word for word and had no issues. It was helpful to have one person roll the dough and another person do the grilling. We will be making our own naan from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is a fantastic naan recipe! I use an oven stone rather than a grill and it turns out fantastic every time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Perfect, easy naan for a curry dinner. I followed other advice and covered the pan while each piece cooked. I used a grill pan and needed more than 30 mins start to finish - - kept them warm in the oven until ready to serve. Much easier than I expected and the whole family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Really easy recipe. Came out perfecty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These were easy and very good. But, I thought they turned out a little greasy. Not sure if it was from the melted butter or the spray. I used. I tried different seasonings and we liked the paprika/ cayenne the best. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States