Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Truly excellent and super healthy. I omit the brown sugar (honestly, with the raisins, it doesn't need it) and I also add 1/2 cup sliced almonds to the mix. I have 1/2 cup of the mix every morning, topped by 1 cup of plain lowfat organic yogurt and 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries (defrosted). This breakfast cannot be beat - all the fiber from the muesli and the berries, plus calcium from the yogurt. I call this my "breakfast of champions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
This is my solution for something besides cold cereal for breakfast. I combine about 3 heaping tablespoons each of meusli and yogurt for a quick and hearty breakfast. Rolled oats give a much better texture and flavor than quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This cereal is really good. I like oatmeal, so I added an extra half cup of oats. I also used a mixture of half raisins, half dried apricots, and I left out the sugar to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This Muesli recipe is a terrific base to start with to create a Muesli of your own. I added almond slivers, diced prunes, and flax seeds to this base, and finished it off with a quarter cup of chopped black walnuts. The black walnuts add an outstanding flavor to the cereal. I'm extremely happy with the results and it goes great with vanilla soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
i've been making this without a recipe for years. it's delicious with chopped granny smith apples, and any other fruits in season. i actually made it this morning-before coming across this recipe- using strawberries, apples, banana...it usually stays in the fridge for a few hours to soften up and absorb the yogurt. after finding this recipe i added craisins, wheat germ, chopped pecans and sliced almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is excellent - better than any oatmeal (I like it hot - 90 secs in the microwave w/ some skim milk) and best of all it literally cost $1 to make at the local organic grocery store using the bins. I used almonds instead of walnuts, BTW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is a good recipe. It makes a lot, and it is nice to have on hand. I was surprised to find that I liked it better cooked. It's heavenly when it's hot and thick with sliced bananas and cinnamon on top. I did add extra raisins, and next time I'll add some other dried fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This is such a yummy, balanced recipe! Being natural muesli I thought it would be bland but this is yummier than any toasted muesli recipe I have ever had, because of the wonderful nutty, oaty flavour. The brown sugar measures to perfection to provide just a hint of sweetness, and so do all of the other quantaties. I substituted wallnuts and pistachios for the nuts, and dates and apricots for the sultanas, and it is the best muesli I have ever had : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe is excellent! (And it saves $ on cereal.) My husband loves it and eats it with organic yogurt. I've added slivered almonds, organic rye oats, and soy oats. It also works great as hot cereal--we added dry milk and dried blueberries on our last hiking trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I have a hard time leaving recipe alone..... although I am sure that this recipe is good as it was written, I made some changes and additions - I omitted the wheat bran and oat bran, added unsweetened puffed wheat, lots of mixed dried fruit, extra walnuts and omitted the brown sugar.... I just had a bowl and it was surely satisfying after running!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States