Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by pat1217
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made this about 5 times now using 1/2 sugar and 1/2 packed brown sugar along with 1 tsp of vanilla, also using salted Spanish Nuts. It was all excellent but I wanted the brittle to be thinner. To get it thinner I doubled the water. It came out much thinner and more delicate and I was able to spread the peanut brittle to almost 3/4 of the cookie sheet, which I couldn't before. I also heated the cookie sheet with parchment paper in the oven at 250 while I was making the brittle. By heating the cookie sheet, it gave me a few more minutes to get it spread. I also used a Spoonula (fantastic silicone spatula). I've been searching other methods of cooking Peanut Brittle and found something I thought was helpful. Use a cast iron frying pan underneath the pot you're cooking the syrup in. This helps to spread the heat more evenly and keeps your pot away from direct heat. Other tips were to rub the sides of your pot with a little vegetable oil, bring the sugars, corn syrup, salt (no salt if using salted nuts) and water to a boil on med high to high heat stirring occasionally to mix the ingredients. Once it comes to a boil, cover with a lid for a minimum of 3 min, remove lid and reduce heat to medium and wait for the syrup to reach 300 up to 350 degrees. Do not stir after you remove the lid. Remove from heat and add first the vanilla then the baking soda (it will bubble up), then the peanuts and last the butter. Then mix fast and crazy. Dump and spread. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I used this recipe and the candy was just awesome. I used shelled raw Spanish peanuts and added them just before I took the pan off the burner to keep that raw peanut flavor. I also added 1t of vanilla. Best brittle I've ever made. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as said and I loved. Everyone thought it was the best they tasted. I did double the recipe because it didn't make a full cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Love it! Made a rosemary and pine nut brittle with it. Chopped up about 2 t. of rosemary and then added in pine nuts. It tasted just like the original peanut brittle (I've made this many times before). But then I get to brag to everyone at Thanksgiving and say that it a "rosemary pine nut brittle" in my best English accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I thought I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't pull and stretch the brittle so that it was thin and it came out too thick and chewy. I will try it again until I get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Awesome family loved it. Best brittle they have had. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it was easy and came out delicious. Using them to fill cello cone and place inside our handmade Victorian cones for the Christmas tree for visitors to take as a gift when they leave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
OK. But I use pure Mexican vanilla. I do not use a thermometer. My mom kept braking them. So I learned through smell, and the ice water method. Cast iron skillet I think works the best. Distributes the heat very well. no need to edit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wondeful....came out perfect every time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecupcakefix
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
First time ever making peanut brittle I used this recipe and it ROCKED Hubby loves it too Will make tons of this for the Holidays! Thanks, Connie Fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States