Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love this recipe!!! I make it all the time & everyone wants to know how did I do that! I added 1/2 cup more peanuts then it asked for! Got to make a few more batches for Christmas Presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I added 1/2 tsp. baking soda and only 1/4 tsp. salt since I used salted butter. This recipe was very easy and worked perfectly. Tastes like traditional peanut brittle and set up just as it was supposed to. Thanks for an easy, awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Made this for the Christmas holiday it didn't make it through the first visit from the kids. Will have to make more tomorrow. Everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love, love, love this! I have been making this for the past 2 years like the previous reviewer. It's definitely a timing thing. I can't imagine making it without a candy thermometer. I add 1 tsp. of vanilla right from the start. I use 3/4 cup of peanuts when the temperature reaches 250 degrees exactly! I also make sure that it absolutely, positively hits the 300 degree mark before taking it off the heat to add the butter and baking soda. When I pour the mixture onto the buttered cookie sheet I just use the back of my wooden spoon to spread it out. This was a Christmas Holiday treat last year and now my kinfolk are begging for more this year! Thanks Amanda for a great recipe and a new Holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've made this two years in a row and now my husband says I must add it to list of holiday baking. It's very good and I do 1 1/2 cups of peanuts (we like peanuts) and I also add 1 tsp of Vanilla. I don't add the peanuts until temp reaches 250 so they don't burn. I also use Trader Joe's salted Blistered peanuts. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe. Made two batches in less than an hour and my family LOVES it. My wife doesn't like peanut brittle bought from the store. She says it's to hard on her teeth. I let this come to a rapid boil once proper temperature was reached. Then quickly stirred in the butter and baking powder. Poured it on the cookie sheet, spread it and put it outside. That left a lot of air in it so not as hard to chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent! Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. I made a double batch for a Holiday party I was hosting with other goodies to set around to nosh on. This was one of the very first things to go. Everyone was asking me for more! It was easy to make and clean up wasn't bad. Hope you enjoy as much as my guests did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed directions but for some reason the butter didn't mix well with the sugar mixture, it seperated once I poured it out on the sheet. They were greasy at the touch and very hard. But tasted allright. I wont be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
SIMPLY THE BEST, i'VE BEEN USING THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS, GO CRAZY WHEN i CAN'T FIND IT. lOVE IT. wON'T USE ANY OTHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise MacColeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made a Thai Peanut Brittle using this recipe. Instead of water I used coconut milk, which needs to be stirred a lot at first, it seems to want to boil over in the beginning. I didn't add the salt. I added roasted/salted peanuts when the temperature hit 300-350 degrees. I took the pot off the burner and added the butter, baking soda, a big pinch of fresh, diced lemongrass and kafir leaves, and a tablespoon of chili garlic sauce. A really good, spicy Thai brittle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States