Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Silpats work great with this! I had no problems with this recipe. I forgot the salt but it did not matter. I read many of the negative reviews and for all those who complain of taffy-like consistency; you simply did not get it hot enough. I think some of the problems reported stem from not having a heavy enough pan. Even using an infrared thermometer there is still some guesswork about the "right" temperature. It will show hotter near the sides than the center. For this candy you are looking for the sugar to be as hot as it can possibly get without getting a burnt taste. Color is as good of an indicator as a $40 thermometer. When you first start to smell burned sugar and it has a light brown color you're done. It takes quite a while to get to this point but once it is done it is done and you need to be quick about spreading it. The burnt peanut problem is probably from using roasted peanuts instead of raw. Look at the back of the bag when you're buying peanuts. Bags of raw peanuts usually have a peanut brittle recipe on the back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was amazingly simple and easy, and makes the BEST brittle. I read a bunch of the reviews and followed several tips (all consolidated here, so you have all the info in one place!) -Heat your buttered cookie sheet. It helps the mixture spread out, especially if you pour it in a circle or a zigzag, and not all in one place -add 1 tsp of vanilla to your butter/baking powder mixture (yes, I put them together. I melted the butter too.) -use a candy thermometer, and be sure that the sugar mix goes over 300 for a few minutes before adding the butter/baking powder/vanilla -add the peanuts after the thermometer reaches 250. It keeps them from burning. I finished mine with a sprinkle of flaked sea salt on top, as I used unsalted peanuts that were nice and dry. Those little bursts of salt really pull it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Turned out really good couldn't make enough for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn5676

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent!! I used pistachios instead of peanuts!!Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
A friend of mine came to me one day and asked me to make him a batch of bacon peanut brittle. Okay, says I, who has never made a batch of peanut brittle ever before, surely the Internet will help me! After scouring the reviews, this was the one I went with. Here's the modifications I made: 1/3 c. each of white sugar, light brown sugar, and dark brown sugar (instead of 1 c. sugar) 1 c. lightly salted dry roasted peanuts 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract Approx. 2/3 c. chopped, cooked bacon, with some fat trimmed All other ingredients used as listed. What I noticed with this recipe is that the candy thermometer recommends it be submerged in at least 2 1/2" of liquid for accuracy, and this recipe only made enough to cover the little bottom bulb. I used a combination of the thermometer, the cold water test, and sense of feel and smell to bring the brittle to temp. The sugar/corn syrup/salt/water mix will significantly thicken as you stir, and it will get dark. I used the water test method at about one to two minute intervals to monitor whether the sugar was creating brittle threads as it hit the cold water. I noticed the mix started to smell like it was beginning to caramelize/burn, even though the thermometer read 250 degrees F. At that point it passed the brittle thread test, so I hurried up and stirred in the peanuts and the rest of the whole darn works, and stirred like mad until it mostly mixed thoroughly, then spread it on greased foil and let it cool. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonette49

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this Brittle for my Hubby who has a very crazy sweet tooth, He loved it...Thank you for Sharing your wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! As someone who has never made peanut brittle before, I found this recipe to be quite simple. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I used sea salt instead of kosher salt (I was out of kosher salt) and walnuts instead of peanuts (I was out of peanuts too!). I also only used 1 1/2 cups of walnuts instead of two. The brittle turned out to be very delicious, much better than store-bought brittle. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I would cook this for less time mine turned out burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is an excellent peanut brittle... watch your timing if your getting close to the 15 min of boiling and your temp is not rising turn up the heat a little.. but really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tasty. I waited to add the peanuts until it was just about to temp. I gave this in a gift basket for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States