Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Thank you previous reviewers! Because of your suggestions, my second batch of brittle tasted way better than my first! The first time, I followed the directions as were. Had a funny burnt peanut taste and I really overdid the greasing on the cookie sheet. I was so nervous about it sticking! Second time...light Crisco on a warmed cookie sheet. 200 degrees in the oven. Waited to add the peanuts (a bout 1 1/2 cups) until right before the baking soda. Added 1 tsp vanilla. Brilliant! Delicious! Yummy! But really didn't need the extra peanuts. Had hot hot hot water ready to soak used items. Also had all ingredients pre measured for a quick mixing. All in all, it is an easy recipe and I don't have a candy thermometer. Found tips online to help with that. Again, easy to follow. Looks like I have a new treat to give out at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I loved recipe very easy and few ingredients, but I need help I followed recipe candy never got hard came out gooey very tasty. Was it cause I greased pan with butter, or did I do something else wrong. Would really appricate some HELP here can anyone tell me what I did wrong. Willing to try recipe again till I get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Asevedo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newideas66
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was an easy recipe and fun to make! Having the ingredients ready to use is a great tip to suggest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newideas66
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahek
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Best recipe ever. No flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
just made this peanut brittle and it didnt turn dark like the picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
So easy... and so GOOD! have tried this recipe with all kinds of nuts and sunflower seeds too! ...and it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
So good, should be illegal. Let's make it easy: All ingredients carefully measured in individual containers. Use 1 1/4 cups of peanuts. Heat oven to 200 degrees, using a large cookie sheet with parchment paper=no excess oil. Patience/MEDIUM heat only/always! Water needs time to evaporate. Use a wooden spoon. Add peanuts at 250 degrees. Container with butter and yes, include 1 teaspoon vanilla...place them close to the boiling pan so it is soft and ready to rumble to the right time. You need to know: the level boiling is low: the thermometer is barely registering the proper temperature. Relax. It takes about 18+ minutes to get there...the peanuts need to brown a bit, as does the sugar/corn syrup. Let it come to you...look for the carmel color. Add butter/vanilla mixture, stir until incorporated, (relax, you are almost there)...add baking soda. Stir until mixed. Don't worry it. Take off heat. Take cookie sheet out of oven. Quickly, but you are in charge, empty the pan onto the parchment paper in a waving motion. Put the pan on an unheated part of the stove. Using the wooden spoon, just flatten the brittle like you know what you are doing. Sprinkle salt on top. YOU ARE DIALED! Take a moment and reflect: "Wow, this is so beautiful and I made it!" Let it cool...you will burn the roof of your mouth if you try it now. Boiling water=easy/queezy cleanup. My first try was a disaster=too high a heat. I call it the "Hindenberg". Now I play music. Such great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Yay!! Everyone loved this brittle. It was very easy and has a light crunch that we love. I hate a hard brittle. I used sweet and salty Spanish peanuts that I got at Costco. So, I didn't add the peanuts until it reached 250, like others had said to do when you don't have raw nuts. It worked perfectly. But, the second batch didn't come together because I decided to try waiting until it reached 300/305 like some others had also did. Nope, that didn't work at all and I was left with a greasy hard batch. I also tried heating my cookie tray so it could spread further and I didn't like doing that because I felt it made the batch hard. I also decided after making 3 batches that I prefer to pour the candy straight onto the cookie sheet without using forks. The texture stays fluffy therefore it keeps a light crunch instead of getting harder. This will be a yearly holiday candy I will continue to make. We Loved it so much! Update: I didn't throw out that 'bad' second batch. After, a few days we decided to eat it, greasy or not. It turned out delicious. I can't believe it. Very light crunch and really not very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have never been able to make candy, fudge etc. This is the first recipe I have made that actually turned out. My only advice is to make sure you have a sink full of hot water to place utensils in because clean up is a lot longer than making. I also used a wire scrubber to get out of cooking pan. Thank you for this recipe, my first to succeed !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, stirring every few minutes. I accidentally let a few extra minutes pass and my temperature went up to 305 degrees (302 is hard crack). It turned out to be a great accident as the brittle was hard but broke easy, and didn't get stuck to your teeth. I will cook that long every time from now on. Tip: don't use too much butter it will leave the brittle greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States