Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Nice Nice recipe! I used this to make a few batches of sugar free brittle for my father at his request. I did make the 1st batch as written before making the changes to suit my diabetic father. Both ways were rather good. And I'm sure he will be most satisfied being able to enjoy his batch that was made with Splenda & sugar free honey alternative...note, agave doesn't work well as I have found. However, this recipe should be well received as my children liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made peanut brittle. This is a pretty easy recipe that yields good results. I made two batches. After reading the other reviews, I concur that this recipe was written for raw Spanish peanuts to be used, otherwise you need to add the peanuts to the sugar later than called for in the directions. I added the vanilla in the second batch I made as suggested by others, but liked it better without. A good candy thermometer is helpful to have when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made 2 batches of this. Super simple since I never made peanut brittle before. This is a great recipe for the novice candy maker. I like more nuts, so I added aprox 2 cups of peanuts instead of just 1. I will be doing this recipes with other nuts too. Pistachios and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The taste is your standard brittle; the crack is waaay too hard and, its very difficult to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wow! This is brilliant! A friend of mine regularly asks if I am making any soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have tried this a few times. This is a hit with everyone who have tasted it. I use mixed nuts to give it a little flair and also add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pat1217
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made this about 5 times now using 1/2 sugar and 1/2 packed brown sugar along with 1 tsp of vanilla, also using salted Spanish Nuts. It was all excellent but I wanted the brittle to be thinner. To get it thinner I doubled the water. It came out much thinner and more delicate and I was able to spread the peanut brittle to almost 3/4 of the cookie sheet, which I couldn't before. I also heated the cookie sheet with parchment paper in the oven at 250 while I was making the brittle. By heating the cookie sheet, it gave me a few more minutes to get it spread. I also used a Spoonula (fantastic silicone spatula). I've been searching other methods of cooking Peanut Brittle and found something I thought was helpful. Use a cast iron frying pan underneath the pot you're cooking the syrup in. This helps to spread the heat more evenly and keeps your pot away from direct heat. Other tips were to rub the sides of your pot with a little vegetable oil, bring the sugars, corn syrup, salt (no salt if using salted nuts) and water to a boil on med high to high heat stirring occasionally to mix the ingredients. Once it comes to a boil, cover with a lid for a minimum of 3 min, remove lid and reduce heat to medium and wait for the syrup to reach 300 up to 350 degrees. Do not stir after you remove the lid. Remove from heat and add first the vanilla then the baking soda (it will bubble up), then the peanuts and last the butter. Then mix fast and crazy. Dump and spread. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I used this recipe and the candy was just awesome. I used shelled raw Spanish peanuts and added them just before I took the pan off the burner to keep that raw peanut flavor. I also added 1t of vanilla. Best brittle I've ever made. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as said and I loved. Everyone thought it was the best they tasted. I did double the recipe because it didn't make a full cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States