Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is the best! I brought it to my friends and he literally yelled out this is AMAZING. Thanks so much. Btw i have found it takes about 17-18 minutes to get to 300 degrees. I also add 1/4 more peanuts and it turned out great. Thanks so much i would give ten stars if it could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmari554
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I doubled the corn syrup and peanuts, used 1/3c water, 2 1/4 c gran sugar, added unsweetened wide flake coconut. Salt, butter and baking soda was left as recipe called for. If you like coconut, this is very good! Does not last long when set out for the taking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I've been making hard candy for years now and decided to give this a go. This recipe tastes amazing. I added 1 tsp vanilla and otherwise would only change the amount of baking soda to 3/4 or 1/2 tsp the next time I make it because it sticks to your teeth really badly and perhaps wouldn't be so chewy were there less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have done this several times, and it either came out perfect or didn't harden/set then I realized that the times that it didn't set was on rainy days so those of you that gave a 1 star and said it didn't set all I can say is was it raining that day? If it was, maybe that was the problem not the receipt. I don't know if it's the humitity in the air or the drop in barometric pressure but it does seem to affect it in my experience. So if it failed, try again on a sunny day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and used a candy thermometer. The candy part was really chewy. Just stuck to all of your teeth. I'm sure that I did something wrong, but I don't know what. I really love peanut brittle and was looking forward to enjoying this homemade version. Too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ihrescue
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I looked at many recipes for peanut brittle and this one appeared to be pretty straight forward. I used all organic ingredients. I had great results. It probably took me longer to get the hardened candy cleaned off the pan and thermometer then actually cooking the brittle. I used an organic light corn syrup that had pure vanilla in it and it tasted great. I stole a tip from a Betty Crocker recipe that suggested warming the cookie pan to 200 degrees to keep the product soft while spreading. I did have one problem in that I couldn't seem to get the peanuts spread to the outer edges once I poured the mixture into the pan. No loss, these areas were like tasty toffee. I also saw a tip elsewhere about concern that adding the peanuts too fast could reduce the temperature so you should add 1/2 wait a minute and add the second half. I didn't do this but I noticed my temperature stalled and possibly dropped below 212 degrees after adding the peanuts and then shot up quickly which caught me off guard. I noticed that during that quick rise of temperature the mixture showed signs of getting darker so I caught it just in time and removed it from the heat. Time and attention to that thermometer reads is critical and the idea here in the reviews of a digital thermometer is probably good as it would be easier to follow the increase in temperature. But that's not vital and I am happy with the results. Photo included before I cracked the brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe several times, always with great success. I make it for my husbands work friends, who often request it. It doubles well... I also add extra peanuts (like 1 3/4 C. per recipe), and a dash of almond extract for extra flavour... The key is to make sure the brittle gets to 300* or it will not be crunchy. A candy thermometer is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Wow! I don't know how it could be better. I doubled the recipe and added raw peanuts(2 1/2C) when the sugar and water 1st boiled. I used 1C white and 1C light brown. Stirred frequently until 300* hit on candy thermometer. Added 2t vanilla, butter and baking soda. Poured on warmed cookie sheet lined with parchment. Shook, tilted and spread with wooden spoon and let cool. Really fantastic! Here's a tip from Julia Child's television show. Boil 2c of water and add 3T baking soda, throw in the nuts and boil for 4 or 5 minutes, rinse with cool water and the skins come off the peanuts easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is definitely a fabulous récipe. The only thing I changed was the corn syrup. I used dark waffle syrup and it still turned out perfectly. I felt so proud when I broke it up and placed into the container. This récipe is the most perfect thing I have ever made. You're awesome, Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Penner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arborg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Silpats work great with this! I had no problems with this recipe. I forgot the salt but it did not matter. I read many of the negative reviews and for all those who complain of taffy-like consistency; you simply did not get it hot enough. I think some of the problems reported stem from not having a heavy enough pan. Even using an infrared thermometer there is still some guesswork about the "right" temperature. It will show hotter near the sides than the center. For this candy you are looking for the sugar to be as hot as it can possibly get without getting a burnt taste. Color is as good of an indicator as a $40 thermometer. When you first start to smell burned sugar and it has a light brown color you're done. It takes quite a while to get to this point but once it is done it is done and you need to be quick about spreading it. The burnt peanut problem is probably from using roasted peanuts instead of raw. Look at the back of the bag when you're buying peanuts. Bags of raw peanuts usually have a peanut brittle recipe on the back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States