Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
SIMPLY THE BEST, i'VE BEEN USING THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS, GO CRAZY WHEN i CAN'T FIND IT. lOVE IT. wON'T USE ANY OTHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise MacColeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made a Thai Peanut Brittle using this recipe. Instead of water I used coconut milk, which needs to be stirred a lot at first, it seems to want to boil over in the beginning. I didn't add the salt. I added roasted/salted peanuts when the temperature hit 300-350 degrees. I took the pot off the burner and added the butter, baking soda, a big pinch of fresh, diced lemongrass and kafir leaves, and a tablespoon of chili garlic sauce. A really good, spicy Thai brittle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This peanut brittle recipe is a bit dark for my liking. But am amazed at how many people burn their brittle. Cook while constantly stirring is the only way to make good brittle. A thermometer is a must and the humidity needs to be 40% or lower. I use a dehumidifier here in Florida to get the humidity down so it isn't sticky. Put nuts in pan at the soft ball stage and by the time it reaches 305 degrees they will be thoroughly toasted but not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Works great, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Borden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This recipe worked very well for someone new to candy making (Me). The only thing that surprised me was it is a small batch. It is more than enough for one person, but I don't think it would be enough for two. (Because it tastes good and you'd have to share. LOL)The candy thermometer is a must for new candy makers like me. Set up the greased pan and ingredients as this recipe dose cook fast and you have to be ready when it is at temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Yep! I made the p-nut brittle it came out gr8 but I agree with one of the viewers. It could definitely used 2 cups of p-nuts. So next X I will use 2 cps. 2 much sugar 4 one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The taste was good but it didn't quite get to the brittle stage even though i cooked the brittle to 300 degrees. It may be because I live in a high altitude climate. I would make it again but raise the temperature to 305 and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for my grandad for his birthday and he loved it! He has been asking for me to make more every couple of weeks! It's super easy to make, just make sure you have a candy thermometer. When adding the peanuts, I wait until the thermometer is around 290 degrees because it can be difficult to stir through when the temperature is at 300. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by richmenz
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made this recipe the way it should be made by the creator. The key to making a great P. Brittle is patience and a candy thermometer!...no kidding!!! Turned out awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States