Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I've cooked this twice. First time, I prepared it and then put it in the refrigerator for 3 hours and cooked it after dinner. Second time, I cooked it straight away. It was definitely better the first time (more dense and chocolatey). The second time was too fluffy and dry. I'm guessing the reason was that the eggs had some time to deflate. Next time, I will make it in advance again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Hubby and I travel frequently, several times a month, which means we eat out frequently as well. We've both had our share of Molten Lava Cakes in fine restaurants all over the country. And so you understand the significance then, when hubby said these were as fine as we've had anywhere. But you do get out of these what you put into them, so use good quality chocolate, not chocolate chips--I used Scharffen Berger. Chocolatey rich and delicious, perfectly moist and cakey on the outside, gooey and "molten" on the inside. I made these in 6 oz. buttered ramekins and served with homemade raspberry sauce. A definite make again. BIG pay off for very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This is, hands down, my favorite dessert. A.k.a. chocolate lava cakes, they can be served with raspberry liqueur drizzled on the plate with a mint garnish or topped with whipped cream. I've put the batter in the freezer and have been able to store for several weeks. (Baking time is increased to 12-15 minutes.) I recommend: 1) replacing the paper muffin cups in muffin pan with ramekins sprayed with oil or cooking spray. (You can turn them over on plate for presentation.) 2) using Ghirardelli or another high quality chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Oh boy. These got RAVE reviews, and mine were even under-done. And sooo easy. My batter was a bit cool still when I popped them in, and it took a good 14 minutes at least. Here's a tip: when the top pops up and starts to crack they are perfect. The inside is still molten and that cracked gooey part will fall back in. My sugar coated raspberries were not the prettiest...but they tasted great. Definitely make these again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I too made these for Valentine's Day dinner & man, they were good! And easy!!! I cooked 4 in ramekins & 4 in muffin cups minus the papers. I sprayed both ramekins & muffin cups w/ Baker's Joy first & both came out cleanly when warm. (I did not immediately remove 2 of the ramekins & even though I microwaved each for 20 seconds they still fell apart when removed. So be sure & remove these while warm, even if you don't eat them right away.) I pooled a bit of raspberry liqueur on the plate before adding the cake & then topped w/ the sugared raspberries. Will have this again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Unbelievable dessert!!! It was so easy to make and ohhhh soooo good to eat. I make at least once a week (requested by my husband). No need to change anything in this recipe (although I have added instant coffee to the chocolate chips and butter for a deeper flavor). To reheat any that are left over just put in the microwave for approx 25 seconds- it's like taking them out of the oven for the first time (they're also just as good cold-fudgelike). Five stars just doesn't do this recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mount Tabor, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is a phenomenal recipe. I have used this one twice and it has been a HUGE hit both times. I used Giardenelli (sp) bittersweet chocolate to make it even more wonderful. Defintely make batter in advance and let set in refrigerator several hours before using. You do not need to let it warm up to room temperature. I used raspberry perserves for an easy delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Yum, these are delish. I never bother with the double boiler. I just microwave the butter and chocolate together and this goes together so quickly. I also just serve them with heavy cream poured straight over. Very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Perfect as written and so easy to make. Can be baked ahead and microwaved before serving. I have made this many times and like it best served with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. I use custard cups sprayed with pam and have never had problems getting them out. This can be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
WOW - this recipe is fantastic! I took the advise of another person and prepared in ramekins which made for a great presentation. I also added blueberries, strawberries and blackberries to the fruit mixture. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, this is a gourmet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States