Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Great recipe!!! I swapped the mayo for yogurt because my wife does not like mayo. I added cumin, garlic salt and chili powder to the mayo to give it a kick. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was amazing!! Worked great the first try! Husband said it needed to some salt but he loves salt on everything! I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
YUMMY! This was the first time I grilled corn straight on the rack without foil or in the husk; it was really good this way. We enjoyed the flavors even though I used parmesan in place of the cotija cheese. I will have to look for it in the stores next time I make it. My butter had some garlic from making garlic bread and I sprinkled a little chili powder as well as salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I now have to try this with lime!! I have been making it a lot recently, it becomes one of those recipes you crave for no reason. The reason for only 3 stars is that your supposed to use Mexican La Crema, mayo is not the authentic way, and Tapatio hot sauce. Quick tip.. if pressed for time, make a "salad" with frozen corn and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My husband and 2 toddlers LOVED these. I oven-roasted the corn in their husks at 350 for 25 minutes because I am too lazy to grill. I sprinkled my hubby's with hot chili pepper but gave my 2 preschoolers the corn without chili. All loved it and went back for seconds. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is awesome but you can not eat a lot of it because if you do you need to be on a diet for the next 3 months but it was really good the gym loves recipes like this for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
just plain old good stuff!!! We make this almost every summer. If you don't have the cotija cheese which can be hard to find depending on where you live, you can substitute parmesan. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was raining outside today so I baked frozen kernel corn in the oven. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
The idea is intriguing & I do like the flavor of the cheese & seasonings. The corn, which was fresh from our garden, did not cook well on the grill - the texture was very odd. I have never had Mexican corn on the cob so I am a little uncomfortable about giving this a low rating. Maybe it is usually starchy & chewy? The basic flavors were yummy but the combo with the grilled corn just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Absolutely my favorite way to serve corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States