Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! Charring the corn made it taste even better! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made this tonight and I accidentally mixed the butter and mayo together before I basted it onto the corn but it was still really good. I also added cayanne, chilli powder and cumin to the mayp mixture. Used grated ramano for the cheese and roasted in the oven on 350 for about 15 minutes since I realized we didnt have charcoal. It came out perfect! I will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Yum! We loved this. Followed the reviewers instructions for the oven. Thank you blakeyl and reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yum! Very close to the corn I had at a Mexican restaurant in Las Vegas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am so glad a reviewer posted how to make this cheese with parmesan because I couldn't find cotija in the grocery store. Mixed in one bowl, 3 tbsp of mayonnaise and 2 tsp of lime juice to it. - Mixed in another bowl, 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground red pepper, 1/4 tsp ground cumin and 1/8 tsp salt. This was a perfect combo!! I served with chili-lime chicken kabobs found on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Love this. I was first introduced to this when I worked at a restaurant that had a lot of Mexican employees. They used Parmesan because that's what we had at the restaurant, and that's what I use because I always have some on hand... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Family loves this! Messy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happybelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have been making corn this way for years. For 6 servings, use 4 tbs mayonnaise, 2 tsp fresh lime juice, 1 tsp cumin and mix together. Roll the grilled corn in butter, then the mayonnaise mixture, sprinkle with Cotija cheese (do not use Parmesan as it is not the same nor authentic to the corn the street vendors serve in Mexico), sprinkle with McCormick's Mexican hot chili powder. Serve immediately ~ your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I used frozen corn-on-th-cob which I boiled and added a couple of pinches of cayenne to the cheese. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am a big fan of Elote!! I was looking for a different way to make it. It wasn't as good as my original way. Sweet corn, you dont need butter. and instead of the wedges of lime which is NOT optional, you have to put a seasoning on it. Lemon Pepper, or Cayenne is MUCH better! Good for a different ingredient though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States