Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was easy and tasty. I do NOT like really spicy food and this was perfect for me and my family. You can't taste the chocolate, but it gives the dish some depth. I added 2 gloves of chopped fresh garlic to the meat and onions and then 1 more in the slow cooker. I also added 1/2 tsp of cloves. Don't care for corn in my chili, so I left it out. Added an extra tsp of chili powder for a total of 1 TBS. Leftovers were really good. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was great! I like mild things, and my husband likes really spicy, so this worked well because as is, the recipe is mild, so we just add some extra spice for the hubster, and voila, perfection! Loved the chocolate mixed with the other savory flavors. It wasn't overpowering, but gave the chili a subtle smoothness. Great blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
one of my favorite chili recipes yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have already made this dish twice and everyone loves it! The second time I made it I added a little more chili powder and a little more cumin. Other than that...it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catastrophiccook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it a couple times. I don't change things because there's anything wrong with the original; it's great exactly as listed. A couple things I've done based on my supplies/people's preferences that have worked are: omitted corn once and tasted fine; usually add more chili powder (at least double the amount) b/c I like chili flavor, and I halve cumin b/c I think it's a strong flavor. Add closer to 1/2 cup chocolate chips; it is still subtle, but I just LOVE chocolate in anything. This is a great chili when you want a change of pace from regular chili. I made it today for a baby shower (double batch) and it was almost completely gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Haven't made this for a year now. The winter hits and my kids are begging for me to make it again. Given that they remember it a year later, I would have to give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a great chili!!! A nice change from another recipe I use. We too like things a bit spicy, so I added a small can of diced ortega chilies, along with a bit more seasonings. Next time, I want to add a bit more chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I was really skeptical at first, but this chili had very good flavor. I used 1 tablespoon of chili powder, because I like spice. I eliminated the water, because I felt their was enough liquid with the 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I did not add the salt. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe. It is the first chili I ever cooked. I added some different items to it but customizing a recipe is what makes it yours when you cook it. I will be cooking some chili this winter. Thanks for sharing your moms recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grillmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I hit it out of the ball park with this recipe! Followed it for the most part, but did make a few tweaks due to living in Austria. I used tomatoes w/chilies (added some roasted garlic), left out the onion (preference used 1 TBLS of onion powder instead), 2 cans kidney beans (couldn't find black beans) - didn't rinse because we like a little of the juice the beans are in, used Mexican chocolate(has a hint of cinnamon) and seasoned the meat w/a homemade hot taco seasoning. I heated the tomatoes & chilies, chocolate and spices together before putting them in the pot (to ensure they were blended well) just to boiling then poured the mix over the meat and vegetables. I added a little extra chili powder, cumin and some chopped jalapenos for extra flavor. The end result was amazing! Served with warm tortillas and a choice of sour cream or a jalapeno cheese sauce as a topping (my husband had both). This is most definitely a great recipe and well worth fixing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States