Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Didn't add any water, used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, some red wine and a Coronita. Didn't put in the corn. I also cut up a hot pepper and sauteed it with the beef. Used cut up dark chocolate instead of the semisweet. Combined with Mexican Mole Poblano recipe. Came out a bit bland but has potential, just needs a bit more flavor. Woudn't use the coronita again, gave it too much of a wang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I was really skeptical at first, but this chili had very good flavor. I used 1 tablespoon of chili powder, because I like spice. I eliminated the water, because I felt their was enough liquid with the 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I did not add the salt. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was very good. The chocolate added a nice flavor. Like another, I added about a half cup of dark chocolate chips, extra chili powder and cumin and also added red pepper flakes for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a great chili!!! A nice change from another recipe I use. We too like things a bit spicy, so I added a small can of diced ortega chilies, along with a bit more seasonings. Next time, I want to add a bit more chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was not really chili to us, not too hearty. More like taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catastrophiccook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it a couple times. I don't change things because there's anything wrong with the original; it's great exactly as listed. A couple things I've done based on my supplies/people's preferences that have worked are: omitted corn once and tasted fine; usually add more chili powder (at least double the amount) b/c I like chili flavor, and I halve cumin b/c I think it's a strong flavor. Add closer to 1/2 cup chocolate chips; it is still subtle, but I just LOVE chocolate in anything. This is a great chili when you want a change of pace from regular chili. I made it today for a baby shower (double batch) and it was almost completely gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Did not care for the taste. If the chocolate was omited, it would probably make a good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have already made this dish twice and everyone loves it! The second time I made it I added a little more chili powder and a little more cumin. Other than that...it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good, but not exceptional...pretty easy to fix though and everyone was satisfied here...just not an absolute keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My husband and I loved this chili! It was even better the next day. It could use a few more spices to kick it up a notch. But that easy to fix. We will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States