Meatloaf Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I just made some meatloaf muffins tonight, but I put a healthy twist on the recipe. I used ground turkey and whole wheat bread crumbs. I also added dijon mustard and worchestershire sauce. I topped them with ketchup and cooked them for 25 minutes at 350. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Vance'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
So delicious. I didn't cook them for 1 hour. It seems like 30-35 minutes did the job. I changed the recipe slightly by substituting cream of mushroom soup. Also some Italian seasoning mix , a little parm chesse and I topped it with a tablespoon full of spaghetti sauce. And garnished with some mozarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheleci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I first used this idea of meatloaf muffins when I was catering a church supper. It's important to use pans that will release the muffins easily. I like the idea of using a large baking pan and placing mounds (could use an icecream scoop for this.) I use my own recipe for meatloaf: no soup added by finely diced vegetables, e.g., shredded carrot, diced bell peppers, celery, garlic, onion. Like another cook, I sometimes put a surprise in the centre, a cube of cheese or a cube of cucumber or zucchini. Thank for this basic recipe that is so adaptable and so handy for portion serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i've been making meatloaf with vegetable soup for years.my grandchildren are not veggie eaters so I sneak in onion,green pepper and whatever other veggies may be around by putting everything but the meat in the blender.Pour this over meat and oatmeal and mix it up.I don't even ask what they want when they come to visit.The best part...they brag about it to their friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I agree that they came out kind of greasy because they sort of stewed in their own grease in the muffin cup. I usually just make up my favorite meatloaf mix (that day), and after lining a baking dish with parchment paper, place large scoops of the mix into the dish, bake for about 30-40 minutes. Add a mixture of 3 parts ketchup and one part brown sugar all over the balls after about 25 minutes. Crusty, moist and delish. Just use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good eats! Try it with ground turkey instead of beef. With the seasonings it will taste fine and you wont have the grease getting everywhere problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great idea for lunch or picnic. I've been doing this for years and make mine with a chunk of cheese (use your favorite) in the center. So many ways to change up the recipe. Tex Mex, Asian, etc. Any of your favorite burger recipes will work. To solve the grease problem, simply use the disposable foil cupcake pans. Punch small holes in them so the grease will escape during cooking. The pans can be hung over the edges of a regular baking pan so they are suspended above the base to allow the grease to drip. Lining the base pan with foil will also keep the clean up to a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I have been making these for years based on a recipe I found at the grocery store. I like the idea of putting some vegetable soup in them, though! I'll have to try that. And frosting them with mashed potatoes. I typically frost them with either ketchup or bbq sauce. The absolute best part of meatloaf muffins is they freeze great. Make a big batch and toss them in the freezer. Perfect for on the go eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great idea! The muffins help you stick to one portion and not go overboard. Added sage & rosemary for that earthy undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I signed up for this website, just to comment on these meatloaf muffins. I am not by any stretch of the imagination a good cook, but tonight I am so excited to see what my husband says about this. I just made them, and was exetremely unsure about it but they turned out great, I just meant to taste it and ate the whole muffin up! I used a little less ketchup about 1/2 cup and tomato soup instead of vegetable. I couldn't even wait for anyone else to come home and try them, but I know they'll love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatloaf Muffins

Your kids will love helping you make--and eat--these savory treats.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States