Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made this for the first time this year, it was super easy and super tasty! It was gone in about 5 min! The only thing I did different (on accident) I forgot the raisins. and it was so perfect that way I probably wouldn't add them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fun and easy to make, although it made one BIG King Cake! It did seem a tiny bit dry, but was perfect the next day. I put a mixture of cream cheese, pecans brown sugar & cinnamon as the filling. Also flung some rum into my icing, just for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was really good and just like I remember from living in NOLA. Next time I will probably add a bit of vanilla to the frosting. I also recommend using the golden raisins for this. Final note: this makes a lot. Easily serves 24+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
SO MUCH BETTER THEN STORE BOUGHT!!!!! My Husband LOVED it! The work pays off. Didn't realize it made two rings though. Will have to share. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This cake was SO easy to make and it tastes BETTER than store bought King Cakes. My changes were minimal, I left out the raisins (YUCK!) and then I thought the glaze needed something more so I made a Vanilla Bourbon Glaze - I'll post the recipe to my blog (thedailygourmet.blogspot.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was pretty good, but 30 minutes was too long for some reason and one of my cakes burned. I made the second cake with the leftover cinnamon sugar but added a bar of cream cheese. I liked this version much better than the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
THIS IS GOOD. MAKE IT. Iv'e never made king cake... never made brioche... Needed enough to serve 75 at my nursing home. yikes? NOPE! ZOMG this is good! Iv'e always had store bought which I now understand is a DISGRACE! I'm quite pleased with myself! -- Be sure to wrap it well, or your filling will spill out..... but if you mess this up anyways, eat the brown sugar/raisin brittle creation on the pan... cause it's freakin good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delish! I made this festive treat for a little dinner party. I cut the recipe in half to make one cake. I made the dough in my KA, super easy! Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh nutmeg so I upped the quantity a little using the pre-ground stuff. I also beat a bar of softened cream cheese in with the filling ingredients and spread the entire mix on the dough and then rolled it up. After 20 minutes, the cake was getting too brown so I covered it with foil for the rest of the baking time. I did skip hiding the plastic toy. Many of my guests had another piece of this tasty dessert! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was awesome! I've never had a traditional King Cake before, so I can't judge how authentic it tastes, but I CAN say that it's pretty darn delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception. I didn't have any raisins or nuts on hand, so I left those out. This baked through in about 18 minutes (no where near 30!), and the filling was wonderfully gooey and rich. I agree with some of the other reviewers...this would make a great breakfast bread! I can't wait to make this again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie.kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully and was well received by my children's classmates! A few notes of caution to those who rated it as "too dry" - that is operator error, not recipe error (sorry!) Follow the instructions PRECISELY. You must ensure that the yeast is dissolved in the right temperature of water for at least 10 minutes. You'll know that it's proper when it appears to be foamy on top. You also have to ensure that you scald the milk properly - don't let it boil and stir it constantly. These two factors will greatly decrease your chances of having a dry cake. Oil the dough as directed too and another tip - when you remove the cakes from the oven, ice them and immediately cover them with aluminum foil to keep in the moisture (unless you are serving it right away). Also - if you don't like raisins or nuts - this recipe allows for other fillings (though we love the raisins, cinnamon and brown sugar!) Now - no more nay sayers and bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States