Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this was ok, but more bready than king cake should be. king cake is fluffier and more pastry like. the filling is fine. if you are looking for authentic style king cake, i wouldn't go for this one. true, king cake recipes vary depending on region of Louisiana and family, but this one is not at all to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a very good, easy to follow recipe. The only ingredient changes I made were omitting raisins (not an authentic king cake addition) and a slight reduction in the nutmeg (I used regular ground), which I am glad I did. I did bake it at a slightly lower temp (330) for 25 minutes, also. I'm a Louisiana girl, and this is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I have rated this recipe before. But, not reviewed . . . it is a very good recipe--best dough recipe that I've found. Easy to half . . . as most won't need two cakes. I have taken out the raisins and nuts to keep it more authentic. I also used a different cream cheese and icing recipe. I HIGHLY recommend using Rapid Rise yeast as it will cut out the FIRST proof of 2 hours. Basically cutting recipe time in half! Just follow direction on yeast pack -- it's a 10 minute rest after kneading instead of 2 hours . . . Will be making a few soon for friends and family!!! Happy Mardi Gras from BR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Rating even before trying., Just made a King Cake yesterday adapting two recipes from allrecipes.com, loved it! Reason I am rating this is because I like the sound of the filling use here Jo. Already planning one with raisins...but going to put the raisins in my dough., But will def. use your filling idea. One note...folks these are SWEET coffee cakes...the glaze and sprinkles make it over the top...so you can go easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I've actually made this once before and it was fantastic. Now I have a question: Can you make any of this ahead of time? I'd love to make the dough and chill, then let it rest the next day, fill and either bake then or bake the next day. Anyone have experience with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
As a Louisiana native, I adore this recipe! I omitted the raisins and nuts out of personal preference but added creolemama's cream cheese part on top of the brown sugar mix. Perfect! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was enough to make two medium sized cakes and friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I'm a fairly amateur cook and this came out great! I just followed the recipe & ended up with a delicious Mardi Gras dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe is perfect as written. Im sure it would be great to add the cream cheese filling but the recipe is still wonderfull and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States