Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Rating even before trying., Just made a King Cake yesterday adapting two recipes from allrecipes.com, loved it! Reason I am rating this is because I like the sound of the filling use here Jo. Already planning one with raisins...but going to put the raisins in my dough., But will def. use your filling idea. One note...folks these are SWEET coffee cakes...the glaze and sprinkles make it over the top...so you can go easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I've actually made this once before and it was fantastic. Now I have a question: Can you make any of this ahead of time? I'd love to make the dough and chill, then let it rest the next day, fill and either bake then or bake the next day. Anyone have experience with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
As a Louisiana native, I adore this recipe! I omitted the raisins and nuts out of personal preference but added creolemama's cream cheese part on top of the brown sugar mix. Perfect! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was enough to make two medium sized cakes and friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I'm a fairly amateur cook and this came out great! I just followed the recipe & ended up with a delicious Mardi Gras dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe is perfect as written. Im sure it would be great to add the cream cheese filling but the recipe is still wonderfull and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
i had such high hopes for this with all the great reviews. I'm from New Orleans, so I guess that was too much to expect. FOund it to be bland and too "yeasty."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was very good, although I left out the raisins. I would recommend decreasing the baking time or temperature, as mine turned out a little too well done & brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Great cake! We added some vanilla, milk, and butter to the icing to give it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe was spot on for times, temps and measurements. Really enjoyed the texture and flavor of the dough. I did add 1 tsp each of lemon zest and orange zest to the dough for personal preference. Really enjoyed the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMASTONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallstead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States