Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
the dough was excellent, easy to work with, and utterly delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Tasted yummy, but I think the filling could be doubled or even tripled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is sensational! Wonderful flavors and authentic as you can get! Was a big hit with friends. One lady, who lived in New Orleans, says this brought back good memories of Mardi Gras. And yes, I did keep one cake for myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a King Cake. A coworker had mentioned this cake on numerous occasions so I decided to make this for him. He grew up with this tradition so I was very pleased when he told me it was excellent and reminded him of years long gone. Everyone at work rated this 4 1/2 to 5 stars....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made this for the first time this year, it was super easy and super tasty! It was gone in about 5 min! The only thing I did different (on accident) I forgot the raisins. and it was so perfect that way I probably wouldn't add them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fun and easy to make, although it made one BIG King Cake! It did seem a tiny bit dry, but was perfect the next day. I put a mixture of cream cheese, pecans brown sugar & cinnamon as the filling. Also flung some rum into my icing, just for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was really good and just like I remember from living in NOLA. Next time I will probably add a bit of vanilla to the frosting. I also recommend using the golden raisins for this. Final note: this makes a lot. Easily serves 24+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
SO MUCH BETTER THEN STORE BOUGHT!!!!! My Husband LOVED it! The work pays off. Didn't realize it made two rings though. Will have to share. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This cake was SO easy to make and it tastes BETTER than store bought King Cakes. My changes were minimal, I left out the raisins (YUCK!) and then I thought the glaze needed something more so I made a Vanilla Bourbon Glaze - I'll post the recipe to my blog (thedailygourmet.blogspot.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was pretty good, but 30 minutes was too long for some reason and one of my cakes burned. I made the second cake with the leftover cinnamon sugar but added a bar of cream cheese. I liked this version much better than the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States