Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe is BETTER than anything you can find in NOLA. I go there a lot and they are always too dry for my taste. This is the best King Cake I've ever had. I made adjustments, like the others: I halved the recipe, but kept the filling measurements the same, but NO raisins- yuck. I also mix a block and a half of softened cream cheese with 3 tbl flour, 2 tsp vanilla, and 2 tbls milk, put this on before the filling. For the frosting, I used 2 cups of confectioner's sugar, mixed with 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp lemon juice, and 3 tbls milk. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I've made this a few times and it's always come out pretty tasty. However, I do make changes to the recipe. I usually add about 1 tsp vanilla extract to the dough and sometimes cinnamon. For the filling I remove the pecans and raisin (seriously, who puts raisins in king cake?) and add a pack of cream cheese instead, and usually a little nutmeg. Without the cream cheese it's come out a bit dry though. I'm dissatisfied with the icing. I've tried it with vanilla and almond extract but I want something less runny. However, it's a good base recipe if you live out of state and have a craving for King Cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great for Mardi Gras themed book club! Special thanks to Laur5270 from Feb 01, 2010 as I didn't know how I would get dough to rise in cold winter months, but the 2 hours in the microwave with a cup of boiled water worked great. I made 1 cake (1/2 recipe) and put it in a bundt pan and it looked a little more elegant. I cut a little off the bottom to level it out. Wilton has a 4 sprinkle package which had the perfect green, yellow and purple (plus pink) which made decorating easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The taste was excellent. The baking time is way to long for my oven. The bottom burned. As a testament to the recipe, even with the bottom burned the cake was still very good. Next time I'll look after 15 minutes and never exceed 20. used the baby inserted in the bottom after it was cooked and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I did have to tweak as other readers did. I tried 3x until I had it perfected. I did cut the recipe in half to put in my breadmaker. To make one loaf, I reduced the filling to 75% of what the recipe called for.(in other words 1.5 of the half amount). BIG BIG key: I cooked at 330 degrees for about 25 minutes--it was way overdone at the original temperature. I did use ramekin in the center and I have since read a small coffee can would work..probably better I switched up the icing as recommended for a full recipe (or halved for one cake)2 c. powdered sugar, 1 T. butter melted, 1 t. clear vanilla, 1 t. lemon juice, 3 T. milk (plus add extra milk as needed to get to the right consistency. This one turned out perfect and was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Absolutely the best I've every had, and that includes the ones in New Orleans. Amazing. We made one change, switched out the raisin filling for cream cheese filling. But it the texture and taste of the bread that was so amazing.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gatterer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
It's Mardi Gras today and this King Cake was a big hit. First time for me...I'm a New Englander!! No raisins, 1 1/2 times the filling and twice the glaze. It's a keeper! Thanks Laur5270 for the great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This turned out awesome and was super easy I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to knead it. Brought it to the Mardi Gras party at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
great recipe.. Cook at 350 degrees (per the video) and not 375 degrees as written above. Much more bread-y than cake-y but very delicious. also, a lot of fun to make with kids. we used food coloring for the frosting as we didn't have colored granulated sugar and it looked amazing. that is all. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayne Hoque
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Perfect recipe.......both cakes came out amazing and the dough was perfect to work with......will definitely make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne Hoque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States