Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was SOOOO GOOD!! It took about 4 hours to freeze but once it was frozen it as gone. Didn't make any changes. Just be sure to use ripe to very ripe mangos so you get that sweet mango flavour. Will make again over any other recipe! #1 in my books
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Outstanding! I used two large mangoes, 3 Tbs symple syrup and 2 Tbsp honey. Juice of whole lime. Very easy to make. Excellent texture. Made just enough for a simple indulgence. Try it with a piece of dark chocolate candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is an outstanding recipe. I used about 3/4c simple syrup rather than the full cup due to personal preference. Thank you, this is going to become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Easy and delicious! I can't wait to try it with Splenda to cut the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
What a yummy treat! I do have a few comments that may be helpful to others. I used 4 VERY ripe mangos which I thought may be a problem, but it actually helped! Thanks to the extreme ripeness, there was no need for peeling much - just cut it in half and pull out the "meat." I combined all of the ingredients in a blender for easier pouring. I have a 4-qt. ice cream maker, and this recipe filled less than one-fourth of its container. So, it actually required less time then the machine alotted for, so check yours every once and a while. Once the sorbet was done, it was almost like a "soft serve" consistency; which we all liked a lot, but if you like your pretty frozen and a bit harder, I suggest letting it freeze in the freezer for quite a while. Finally, I believe this recipe says that it can serve 12, well it definitely cannot. I only ended up with 4 servings, which is perfect for the 4 of us, but if you want more you will need to increase the ingredients. (I guess it is one mango per person :D ). Oh, and one more thing, I used bottled lime juice, not fresh and it was fine. Very tasty, you should definitely give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I loved it. It was one of the best desserts I have had in years! Even my family loves it. They ask me to make it everynight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This sorbet is so, so good. To make simple syrup, I boiled a cup of water and then stirred in a cup of sugar until the sugar was dissolved. To give it more fruit flavor, I added the lime zest from two limes to the water before I boiled it. Once the simple syrup was made, I added the lime juice from both limes. Once it cooled a bit, I put in in the fridge for a while. I ended up with more than a cup of simple syrup, so I just used a cup of it and am saving the rest to make the recipe again. Very yummy! It tastes very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Mangoes and limes are a match made in heaven. I've been making a recipe like this for years. The texture of the sorbet is sublime! If you can find the jarred mangoes in light syrup (in the refrigerated section of the product dept, usually), you can even skip the simple syrup. I do usually add a bit of vanilla, too, but this sorbet is my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a great basic recipe. Like others, I modified it by reducing the simple syrup to just 1/2 cup, since my fruit was very ripe and sweet. Also, I used one mango, one papaya, one kiwi (minus seeds) and strawberries. It turned out great, only next time I will try canned pineapple instead of the syrup + kiwi (the kiwi made the sorbet taste a little furry though I did skin the fruit first). Make sure you read your ice cream maker instruction before starting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Didn't change a thing and it was delicious! Such a great summer treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States