Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was good. I halved the recipe (I only had 2 mangoes, and they were cut up & ready for something). I also changed the configuration of sugar for the simple syrup. I used about 2/3 sugar and 1/3 Splenda. (Next time I'll try half of each.) It was very good, really refreshing for summer. My only complaint, and it isn't the fault of the recipe, is the stringiness of the mangoes. Some bites were so stringy, and somehow in the freezing process, they lose their juice, so we ended up with clumps of flavorless string stuff in our mouths. It only happened a few times, but I'm going to have to figure out how to fix that. I maybe just need to puree longer than I did. The flavor and simplicity of the recipe, though, get an A from me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Hmm. I liked this. But I don't have an ice cream maker, so perhaps that is my problem. It kind of just tasted like sweetened frozen mango. LOL. Bf didn't like it but I was ok with it. Maybe kinda like a fruit bar . . .I don't know. I'll have to experiment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very tasty! Easy preparation but a bit too sweet. Will definitely use less simple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This turned out perfect! It was the first recipe I made with my new ice cream maker. I viewed tons of recipes and choose this one because of the natural ingredients. I am cutting back on sugar so I made the simple sugar syrup with 3/4 Cup instead of 1 Cup and 1 Cup water. I used frozen Mango chunks because the store here was out of fresh. I thawed them and they pureed perfectly. I have a new favorite!!! This is so light and delicious. The lime really adds the perfect little kick to it. Not too much, but just a hint. Next time I am going to cut the sugar back to 1/2 Cup and shoot for using really ripe mangos for natural sweetness. Definately a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Reward is far greater than effort put into this quick and simple dessert. I would add simple syrup little by little to taste though because the mangoes I used turned out to be sweeter than expected and didn't require as much syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I threw a seeded jalapeno pepper into the blender with the mangoes. It added a tiny bit of heat and an interesting kick. I reduced simple syrup to 1/2 cup. The recipe as listed makes about 1.25 quarts of sorbet which only serves about four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This sorbet is so, so good. To make simple syrup, I boiled a cup of water and then stirred in a cup of sugar until the sugar was dissolved. To give it more fruit flavor, I added the lime zest from two limes to the water before I boiled it. Once the simple syrup was made, I added the lime juice from both limes. Once it cooled a bit, I put in in the fridge for a while. I ended up with more than a cup of simple syrup, so I just used a cup of it and am saving the rest to make the recipe again. Very yummy! It tastes very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Didn't change a thing and it was delicious! Such a great summer treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a great basic recipe. Like others, I modified it by reducing the simple syrup to just 1/2 cup, since my fruit was very ripe and sweet. Also, I used one mango, one papaya, one kiwi (minus seeds) and strawberries. It turned out great, only next time I will try canned pineapple instead of the syrup + kiwi (the kiwi made the sorbet taste a little furry though I did skin the fruit first). Make sure you read your ice cream maker instruction before starting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Mangoes and limes are a match made in heaven. I've been making a recipe like this for years. The texture of the sorbet is sublime! If you can find the jarred mangoes in light syrup (in the refrigerated section of the product dept, usually), you can even skip the simple syrup. I do usually add a bit of vanilla, too, but this sorbet is my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States