Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A wonderful refreshing summer treat. I added a bit of citrus vodka to keep the sorbet texture after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good...doesn't need as much sugar when you are creating sugar water.. the fruit makes it very sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Use ripe mangoes and this recipe won't disappoint! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the smoothest sorbet I have ever had. I used canned mango drained off the syrup as I didn't have any fresh when I found this recipe.Everyone who has had a taste was impressed...Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is really good sorbet. I added about a tsp of grated lime peel to the simple syrup while it cooked. I also added a little more (about 1/4 c.) sugar. Made this the 2nd time with 1 cup of strawberries. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Soooo yummy and so simple to make, even for those that do not have an ice cream maker. It is a pain to have to keep tabs on it every 30 minutes to whisk it between bouts of freezing, but in a couple hours - voila! mango sorbet! Thanks for the recipe! AND - my mango was seriously over-ripe and it was just the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added kiwi instead of lime juice. That way, i still had the tartness of a lime and an extra fruit. ...It was GOOD!!! I tasted light and healthy. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I make the syrup by boiling 1-1/2 cups water with 8 tbsp sugar,letting it boil for about 15 mins to about 1 cup and leaving it in the fridge overnight. I use 700gm of mango puree and 4 tbsp of lime juice. The next time when I make this sorbet I'm gonna add 1 or 2 tbsp of lime juice, because after freezing, I can't really taste the lime. The texture of this sorbet is just right. Not too mushy or too hard. It is good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Used a sauce maker to puree the mango in and added the lime juice and some zest. Also added a bit of grated ginger to the simple syrup while heating. Poured all of the ingredients in a ziplock freezer bag. (I don't own an ice cream maker yet.) Mixture is currently in the freezer. taking it out ever 15-30 minutes and squishing it around to break up the crystals. Got caught Sneaking a taste and so far wonderfully. I am sure it will be even better completly frozen. Trying the same with some peach puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Just delicious! Creamy and velvety smooth - no hint of graininess or iciness, with a beautiful and vibrant color. Delightful and easily identifiable mango flavor simply enhanced with the lime juice - wouldn't have known it was in there had I not made this myself. And because I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen mango chunks (and a half recipe) this was unbelievably fast! I pureed the frozen mango, then added the lime juice and syrup which I had chilled in the freezer and continued to puree until smooth. Because the mixture was pretty much frozen (and spoonable!) before it even hit the ice cream maker, I don't think I even churned it ten minutes before it was done and nearly ready to eat. As for the lime juice and simple syrup, I used the amounts called for in the recipe, scaled down to half the recipe, and found both to be perfect. Definitely a "make again" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States