Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
*Wow.. this was amazing for all your tastebuds* **Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was delicious, but the sauce didn't turn out as thick as I had imagined. However, it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
We had macadamia nut crusted mahi at a *very expensive* restaurant in Hawaii a year and a half ago. Ever since, my husband has been raving about it. I decided to try this recipe for our Easter dinner yesterday as a special treat for him. It was a huge success. :) He said, "this is every bit as delicious as _________ restaurant!" So there you have it -- from the mahi-loving man himself. ;) I did make a few changes to the recipe: first, I used more nuts than bread crumbs because I only had seasoned crumbs and didn't want the nutty flavor to get lost. Second, I forgot to buy a habanero pepper so I just threw some crushed red pepper flakes into the sauce while it simmered. The spiciness was perfect. Next, I used about twice as much coconut as the recipe called for because I really wanted the coconut flavor to stand out. Also, since I used canned pineapple chunks rather than fresh, I used the syrup from the can to sweeten the sauce rather than sugar. And lastly, I served the sauce over the fish without straining it, sort of like a chutney -- the chunks of fruit were really tasty with the fish. Superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Delicious! I followed the recipe EXCEPT that I did not have papaya and so just added a little extra pineapple and mango to compensate and also did not have the pepper so I followed another's suggestion and just added some red pepper flakes. It did the trick! I also added a little cornstarch to the sauce at the end of the boiling to thicken it up. The dish was delicious and an easy one to impress hubby or company with. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I make this at least twice a month now. I made whole wheat bread crumbs from stale bread that I toasted until dry, and put in a food processor. I used red pepper flakes in place of the habanero, and I think the sauce is better without the papaya. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch, and I sweetened it with honey. I substituted half olive oil for the butter to keep myself from further expansion. Excellent recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I've been getting recipes from this site for years, and have finally 'joined' just so I could review this recipe!!! It is fabulous. I was afraid that it would be too hot with two habeneros, but it wasn't. It had just enough kick and was wonderful with the sweet fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I've made this twice now, and each time it has really impressed! I first made it for my husband on our anniversary, and have made it again recently. I have served it with green beans or asparagus and potato corn cakes, as recommended. The sauce smells awesome while it's cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This had lots of flavor! I had to add a bit of water (maybe 1 Tbsp.) to the nuts and breadcrumbs mixture, to make it pasty enough to stick to the fish. Worked like a charm. Also did not have haberno peppers, so like others I used a dash or two or crushed red pepper flakes (which really gave the dish some heat!). I strained the sauce to thicken it with some cornstarch, once it was thickened I added the fruit back to it and served over the baked fish, as one reviewer said, like a chutney. Keep in mind if you have thick mahi fillets, like I had (mine were probably at least 1" thick) you may have to increase oven time - mine took about 20 min. Also be forewarned - this is a time-consuming recipe, and I didn't even chop my fruit, I bought the del monte fresh chopped fruit cups. Still, a dish to impress your guests. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
excellent i pretty much followed the recipe-i'm not much for measuring-i also used cashews,jarred tropical fruit, and not as much chicken broth so it was super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was delicious! Although it took closer to 20 minutes in the oven for our fillets to cook (perhaps they were thicker?). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States