Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
we followed the recipe step by step EXACTLY and we were really disappointed. It was way too hot and we LOVE spricy food. We couldn't even eat it and I ended up throwing all of the sauce out. I recommend that you use one habanero pepper or do as others have suggested and don't use any and substitute red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Good and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really fantastic! I couldn't get enough of that sauce and so kept pouring it on my brown basmati rice and just ate it like that!!! I do have to say though, I don't know if it was just he habaneros from my garden that were too hot, but my husband and I LOVE spicy food, we eat sriracha on everything and this dish was okay for us but I would never serve something this spicy to guests(unless I know for a fact they love really hot food) I would say to cut it back to one habanero and if not spicy enough add some chili flakes...The crust was fantastic but I did more like 3/4 of a cup of macadamian nuts and one cup of bread crumbs seasoned with salt and pepper. I also fork whipped 2 egg whites to dredge the fish in first. I also used about half a can of coconut milk and reduced the chicken stock to 3 1/2 cups(make sure to use stock and not broth for the best flavor) and 1 tblsp of sucranat sugar (from Hawaii) For those of you who found your sauce didn't thicken, then you did not simmer it long enough, Simmering doesn't necessarily mean a slow simmer....I kept it at a good med/ high heat for the liquid to evaporate and the sauce then reduces nicely. I used an emergen blender to semi break up the chunks(still leaving alot of texture) you could do this in a processor with just two or three pulses. This also helps to thicken without the use of cornstarch. Great recipe and will be using often as a go to meal especially for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Getting a quality visually-appealing crust was a challenge. For presentation, I wound up sprinkling toasted macadamia and coconut over the finished filets. Used the freshest fish and the freshest fruit. OMG. I cook all the time. I think this was the best thing that I ever tasted from my own kitchen. The sauce is DEEEEEVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
excellent idea to dust in bread crumb+micro chopped nuts. did not make the sauce (took shortcut and used already made pineapple-mango sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
We were in Maui and my brother-in-law caught some Mahi Mahi on a fishing trip. I found this recipe and decided that this one sounded especially good with all the fruit so easily found on Maui. I did like a lot of other reviewers and did not strain the fruit after simmering. It was very tasty with the chutney style. I did not thicken with corn starch like other reviewers did, and I think if I would have strained the fruit out, the sauce would have been too thin. We also added 3 Tbsp of coconut to the sauce instead of just one, and I think if I make it again, I will add even more for a more coconutty taste. This recipe was outstanding! It got rave reviews from my family. Hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was excellent and I think the reason I liked it so much is because how easy it was after I cheated. I have had this dish in many many restaurants and I think mine was just as good... Do you have a trader joe's by you? Well then great, get a jar of their pineapple salsa put it in a small sauce pan and let it simmer on med heat for about 10 minutes... and your sauce is done. Super easy super tasty! I also put a bit of milk on the fish so the coating would attach easier but it wouldn't be as thick as egg and the rest I followed. I served this over brown rice and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I'm pretty new to cooking and this was one of the first recipes I've tried. My Hubs and I loved it! It was fairly easy to make. Love the sweet but spicy bite the sauce provides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The taste was really good, but for all of the expensive ingredients and time, I was hoping for something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States