Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
The macadamia crust was wonderful and will definitely make it again (per the recipe). I followed some other reviews and substituted canned pineapple & mango for the sauce. I think fresh fruit (as the recipe calls for) would be far, far better. I served with saffron rice and roasted asparagus. A colorful & very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Way too sweet. Won't be cooking this one again. It was very expensive to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Thank you for a mahi mahi recipe that even my "I hate fish" 7 year old enjoyed. I couldn't find shallots or fresh pineapple at the grocer, so I replaced them with onion and canned pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I would never want to mess with a chef's perfection, but Target's Archer Farms brand makes a sauce with habanero's and mangos if you want a short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great! We have made this several times and my family always enjoys it. I have heard from friends that it "tastes like what we pay $20-25 for in a resturant". Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very tasty! Next time I'll try coating the fish in egg before dipping in the bread crumbs, I thought the crust should have been a little crisper. Left out the pepper as my family doesn't care for spicy food. Needed to add a bunch of cornstarch to thicken sauce, which was delicious. I pureed the leftovers and put in the freezer for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Amazingly delicious!! I've been to many, many island resorts and have never had such good mahi mahi as this. And I cut corners, even! 1. I used canned tropical fruit and juice to sweeten; 2. Used chili paste from a tube; 3. Used a can of coconut milk instead of regular coconut (it made the sauce thicker) 4. I also dipped the filets in an egg mixture to ensure even coating. 5. I pureed the sauce instead of straining-- if you do this, you'll have twice as much as you would otherwise. My bf was so impressed, he suggested we save the leftover sauce so I can make it again, TOMORROW!! Also, I used frozen fish and boullion (not stock)- this meant I didn't have to simmer the sauce in order to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I'm not huge on any kind of seafood, but this was good. My husband loves this dish at restaurants and he enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Phenomenal. Served to 4 dinner guests and it was loved by all. Used cayenne instead of habaneros and omitted papaya per other comments. Served with coconut rice, and diced cucumber & mango salad Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Great recipe and the chutney turned out real good. Although I would use a less spicy pepper next time as the habanero was a tad too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States