Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
The macadamia crust was wonderful and will definitely make it again (per the recipe). I followed some other reviews and substituted canned pineapple & mango for the sauce. I think fresh fruit (as the recipe calls for) would be far, far better. I served with saffron rice and roasted asparagus. A colorful & very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Way too sweet. Won't be cooking this one again. It was very expensive to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Thank you for a mahi mahi recipe that even my "I hate fish" 7 year old enjoyed. I couldn't find shallots or fresh pineapple at the grocer, so I replaced them with onion and canned pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I would never want to mess with a chef's perfection, but Target's Archer Farms brand makes a sauce with habanero's and mangos if you want a short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great! We have made this several times and my family always enjoys it. I have heard from friends that it "tastes like what we pay $20-25 for in a resturant". Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very tasty! Next time I'll try coating the fish in egg before dipping in the bread crumbs, I thought the crust should have been a little crisper. Left out the pepper as my family doesn't care for spicy food. Needed to add a bunch of cornstarch to thicken sauce, which was delicious. I pureed the leftovers and put in the freezer for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Amazingly delicious!! I've been to many, many island resorts and have never had such good mahi mahi as this. And I cut corners, even! 1. I used canned tropical fruit and juice to sweeten; 2. Used chili paste from a tube; 3. Used a can of coconut milk instead of regular coconut (it made the sauce thicker) 4. I also dipped the filets in an egg mixture to ensure even coating. 5. I pureed the sauce instead of straining-- if you do this, you'll have twice as much as you would otherwise. My bf was so impressed, he suggested we save the leftover sauce so I can make it again, TOMORROW!! Also, I used frozen fish and boullion (not stock)- this meant I didn't have to simmer the sauce in order to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I'm not huge on any kind of seafood, but this was good. My husband loves this dish at restaurants and he enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Phenomenal. Served to 4 dinner guests and it was loved by all. Used cayenne instead of habaneros and omitted papaya per other comments. Served with coconut rice, and diced cucumber & mango salad Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Great recipe and the chutney turned out real good. Although I would use a less spicy pepper next time as the habanero was a tad too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States