Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great recipe - would definitely use again. In order to make the bread crumbs stick to the fish, dip into a beaten egg before coating. If it does not look amazing before baking, don't loose hope! It can still turn out to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
i modified the recipe a bit. i opted for halibut instead of mahi mahi cause i wanted a more tender fish. i also added chopped basil and garlic to the blend, which gave it a nice extra kick. lastly, i used panko mix instead of bread crumbs for extra crispiness. it was fabulous! maybe it was because i used halibut, but it was very "buttery." my guests said it almost taste like chilean sea bass (not quite as buttery). if i do halibut again, i think i'll try olive oil instead of butter. will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodfreak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was a great dish! However, if you don't like things hot, take the habaneros out early. I took them out after 3 minutes and there was still a kick to the sauce. Also it seemed a shame to waste all of that fruit. I used it a a garnish and ended up mixing it in with my rice.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
FANTASTIC!! I wish I could give this 10 stars! My husband called in the afternoon to say that he had just caught some dorado (that's what us So-Cal folks call mahi mahi) and I wanted to make something that was going to be different than the way I had eaten it before (plain, grilled or raw, with soy sauce). This was the most delicious fish I have EVER had--restaurant or home cooked--the best. Each and every flavor could be tasted and they combined so well. I had never cooked with habaneros before, and DO NOT use more than two, but they gave the perfect heat to the sweet fruits and coconut. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to taste the macadamia nuts, but even they made themselves known in this recipe. Considering the fish was "free" (sorta), it wasn't too expensive of a meal, but it is definitely worth the cost even if you have to buy the fish. This meal is worthy of heads of state, and actually impressed my husband (he's a fisher, not an eater of fish). I will make sure to keep these ingredients on hand during dorado season. Thank you for the superb recipe (and for making me look like a 5-star chef!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Delicious. All my dinner guests asked for the recipe. I also left the fruit in the sauce so it was more of a chutney. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I suggest using panko breadcrumbs in lieu of the regular "western" version. Otherwise, this is an easy and quick dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
The recipe sounded like it would taste great. But it wasn't. It was expensive to buy all of the ingredients, which wouldn't be an issue if it actually came out good. I followed the recipe to a "T" and the mahi mahi crust didn't tase like a macadamia nut crust..just bread crumbs. The sauce never thinkened up..not even close. The whole meal had no taste to it. Not to mention that the steps listed are out of order! It says to brown the fish, then start cooking the sauce for 30 minutes, then finish cooking the fish for only 10 minutes in the oven. What do you do with the browned fish for 30 minutes while the sauce cooks? I should have read this recipe more carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very good. Next time will try brushing fish with honey before coating with macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This dish was moved to the top of our "best meal we've ever had" list. It met or surpassed the restaurant version we tried a couple of years ago at a top notch restaurant. I used all fresh ingredients (except for pineapple) just to be safe, and since it was so outrageously delicious I'd probably stick to that next time. I did use a lesser amount of chicken stock and also used corn starch (mixed in with a little pineapple juice for the sweetener) as recommended by another reviewer, and also served it "chutney style" by not straining and only removing the pepper. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This one has lived up to the reviews. Well worth making. I made pretty much as is with exceptions to the papaya(don't care for) and used red onion because I forgot the shallots. No need to strain the sauce, it just adds an extra step and it is fabulous with fruit pieces in it. Scooped a bit of the sauce on the side before adding the peppers at the end(used jalepenos) so the kids didn't have the heat. I too added about a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the sauce. This one is definate keeper. Who needs the high priced dinner bill of eating out with this recipe in your book? Great way for the kids to like fish when paired with the sweet sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States