Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Melissa Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
To enhance the taste of the pancakes, I add a tsp of vanilla & sugar. I also added pecans to the batter & sprinked on top of the pancakes w/ maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful! Followed the recipe as reads EXCEPT I put in 1/4 lb butter instead of 1/4 cup because I have never seen 1/4 CUP designation for butter. If I did it incorrectly it didn't affect the taste and two eight year olds gobbled it up....even made it with whole wheat flour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It makes me mad to take my time and ingredients and work at making something to end up empty handed and hungry. I followed the directions perfectly, except for halving the recipe, which I double checked. The batter was obviously too thick, so I thinned it down with more milk. Even so, no matter how long I cooked them, these pancakes were gooey in the center. Since the recipe has egg in it, I wasn't going to serve these undercooked. I don't know how anyone had a decent result with this recipe, and now we're eating peanut butter sandwiches for dinner, mad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We loved these. I added 2/3 cup of Pecan Sticky Bun Granola, and substituted ginger and some cinnamon for the nutmeg. Also followed the advice of another and added some vanilla! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
these are very good wth maple syrup and whipped cream. taste like sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! Like others though I used canned sweet potatoes in syrup (when little ones wake up at 6am it's just easier on me) added 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg. I've cooked these quite a few times both with pumpkin and with the sweet potatoes and my family LOVES them!! In half the pancakes I like to add slivered almonds or pecans too. Thanks so much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I had to cook them on lower heat for a longer time so that the insides would cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
these were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is one of our favorite kid-friendly dinners. We found using all whole wheat flour still tastes just as good. Guests can't believe how good these taste with no added sugar and no white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
YUM! Cut nutmeg in half bc I don't like it as much, added cinnamon and a couple tbsp sugar, as recommended by others. Left the batter in the fridge over night (def tasted better the next day). Before cooking, added milk to thin it out until it was spreadable, prob 1/2 a cup more. The batter tasted salty, but the pancakes did not. So don't dismiss salty batter! Cooked smallish, thin pancakes on low heat, didn't have any burning or mush issues, but they do take some time. Also - left little lumps of sweet potato (not well mashed) and I was glad I did, it added a nice texture! Served with Blueberry Breakfast Sauce from this site. Next time we'll eat them with cream cheese and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States