Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great flavor! The batter did not cook right. The measurement of sweet potatoes is hard to judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thurmont, Maryland, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are fantastic, another way to enjoy sweet potatoes without the gushiness and butter. I topped them with a simple drizzle of confectioner sugar+milk and they were to die for. I wish my wife liked sweet potato, as I'd make these monthly! A fantastic recipe and a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I went super decedent with these by adding some candied pecans on top. The only modification was I used cloves in place of the nutmeg (I find the flavor to usually be overpowering). I was in the mood for some soul food, and these hit the spot. I'd be interested in serving these as a savory dish sometime. Has anyone tried it? Perhaps with some sage butter or something of the like, I could see them working with a protein... just a thought :) I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_jama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good but too salty. Next time I will use 1/2 the salt. Also I used 1/2 of the milk and used yogurt for the rest. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this recipe as stated 2010/10/14. This is a good jumping off point. Boiling the sweet potato didn't produce an intense flavor so there was only a hint of it in the pancakes. The nutmeg was very strong and helped overshadow the flavor of the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
To enhance the taste of the pancakes, I add a tsp of vanilla & sugar. I also added pecans to the batter & sprinked on top of the pancakes w/ maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful! Followed the recipe as reads EXCEPT I put in 1/4 lb butter instead of 1/4 cup because I have never seen 1/4 CUP designation for butter. If I did it incorrectly it didn't affect the taste and two eight year olds gobbled it up....even made it with whole wheat flour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It makes me mad to take my time and ingredients and work at making something to end up empty handed and hungry. I followed the directions perfectly, except for halving the recipe, which I double checked. The batter was obviously too thick, so I thinned it down with more milk. Even so, no matter how long I cooked them, these pancakes were gooey in the center. Since the recipe has egg in it, I wasn't going to serve these undercooked. I don't know how anyone had a decent result with this recipe, and now we're eating peanut butter sandwiches for dinner, mad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We loved these. I added 2/3 cup of Pecan Sticky Bun Granola, and substituted ginger and some cinnamon for the nutmeg. Also followed the advice of another and added some vanilla! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
these are very good wth maple syrup and whipped cream. taste like sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States