Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good but too salty. Next time I will use 1/2 the salt. Also I used 1/2 of the milk and used yogurt for the rest. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this recipe as stated 2010/10/14. This is a good jumping off point. Boiling the sweet potato didn't produce an intense flavor so there was only a hint of it in the pancakes. The nutmeg was very strong and helped overshadow the flavor of the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
To enhance the taste of the pancakes, I add a tsp of vanilla & sugar. I also added pecans to the batter & sprinked on top of the pancakes w/ maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful! Followed the recipe as reads EXCEPT I put in 1/4 lb butter instead of 1/4 cup because I have never seen 1/4 CUP designation for butter. If I did it incorrectly it didn't affect the taste and two eight year olds gobbled it up....even made it with whole wheat flour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It makes me mad to take my time and ingredients and work at making something to end up empty handed and hungry. I followed the directions perfectly, except for halving the recipe, which I double checked. The batter was obviously too thick, so I thinned it down with more milk. Even so, no matter how long I cooked them, these pancakes were gooey in the center. Since the recipe has egg in it, I wasn't going to serve these undercooked. I don't know how anyone had a decent result with this recipe, and now we're eating peanut butter sandwiches for dinner, mad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We loved these. I added 2/3 cup of Pecan Sticky Bun Granola, and substituted ginger and some cinnamon for the nutmeg. Also followed the advice of another and added some vanilla! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
these are very good wth maple syrup and whipped cream. taste like sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! Like others though I used canned sweet potatoes in syrup (when little ones wake up at 6am it's just easier on me) added 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg. I've cooked these quite a few times both with pumpkin and with the sweet potatoes and my family LOVES them!! In half the pancakes I like to add slivered almonds or pecans too. Thanks so much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I had to cook them on lower heat for a longer time so that the insides would cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
these were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States