Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I overdosed on these they were so good. Except I already had sweet potato puree on hand so I didn't have to boil the potatoes. I cut the amount of nutmeg in half and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Also, I had to put the stove heat at 4 (medium low) at medium high they would have burnt to a crisp. Ate the pancakes with butter and powdered sugar on top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
How do you cook these all the way through? I cooked these twice for so long and it was still gooey in the middle both times. I'm disappointed that I wasted two sweet potatoes. I would love to know why they didn't cook through. I'm trying another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly W. Ross
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I had Sweet Potato Pancakes recently at a Bed & Breakfast and wanted to try making them on my own. Mine didn't come out as fluffy as those we had before, but I think it's because my sweet potatoes didn't cook soft enough (which I discovered all too late for compensating). I had better luck with using the microwave for about 9 minutes than I did with boiling the sweet potatoes for 15-20 minutes. I had hoped to make several batches of this recipe so I could use up the 2.5 lbs of sweet potatoes I had, but one batch turned out to be so many pancakes that I didn't keep going. Since we do Weight Watchers, I needed to know how many pieces would be in 1 serving... I measured them onto the griddle using a Tablespoon and ended up with 41 small pancakes! So each serving is basically about 5 pancakes if there are 8 servings according to the recipe. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and subbed 1/2 c. Oat Bran in for 1/2 c. of the flour. It took way more than 25 min for me to make these though... more like 2 hrs from start (boiling water) to finish. I usually have a steep learning curve with recipes though, so hopefully next time will be quicker. I plan to freeze the remainder of my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter - twice. The batter never cooked all the way through. They also lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I thought I'd try this once because my son and husband love sweet potatoes, but I loved it myself! I'm not a big pancake person, but this fixes everything wrong with pancakes. They're fluffy without tasting like flour. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 2T butter, an extra splash of milk, and added 1/2 t. cinnamon. I'd probably cut back just a little on the nutmeg next time. I also cooked my sweet potato in the microwave, we have a potato button that has never failed me. Delicious! I predict this becoming a family favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These were amazing!!! I made a few changes but nothing big....a little cinnamon....almond extract....a tablespoon each of brown sugar and white sugar...my new favorite breakfast item!! My husband kept high fiving me the whole time we were eating....also garnished with whipped cream, chopped almonds and cinnamon...IHOP eat your heart out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWeiser29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Tasted a like a regular pancake to me. My husband said he could taste the nutmeg a lot, but otherwise it was the same as a regular pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I make these all the time for my grandchildren. I use all whole wheat flour and add 1 t cinnamon. They take a little time so I make a batch and put in little freezer bags and take them out as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
hard to cook so the middle isn't gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
After making this recipe so many times that I have memorized it I felt I had to put in a positive review. Recently was a "guest chef" at the Ronald McDonald house and recieved rave reviews. They are also super delicious with chocolate chips. My modifications: 3/4 lb sweet potatos = 2 1/2 cups 1 t cinnamon 1/4t nutmeg 1/2 t vanilla Also, I found that microwaving the sweet potato is a timesaver and there is no issue with too much moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States